我如何帮助我的孩子采用新的数字“绿十字代码”以保证在线安全?

随着孩子们在网上越来越独立并开始探索和表达自己,影响他们所做的事情可能更难。 我们的专家将探索如何使用新的数字代码为他们提供在线获得更安全体验所需的支持。


凯蒂科莱特

戴安娜奖高级反欺凌项目经理
专家网站

父母如何支持孩子接受新代码

孩子们正在成长为数字原住民 - 他们从未知道没有互联网的时间。 一个 皇家基金会的新行为准则 寻求为儿童提供他们在网络世界中进行正确选择所需的工具。

父母必须帮助他们的孩子理解这些代码并将其用作成为优秀的数字公民。 与您的孩子一起阅读代码,并确保他们知道在实践中停止,说话和支持的含义。

尝试将这一部分与您在网络世界中进行定期,开放的对话,以创建一个他们可以轻松接近您的环境,并解决他们可能遇到的任何问题。

讨论可能出现的不同在线场景以及您的孩子如何使用这些场景,使用代码中的实用建议来帮助他们。 像大多数社交媒体工具上的报告和阻止功能这样的东西可以为年轻人提供真正有用的工具来独立处理负面的在线情境。 最重要的是,如果您的孩子有问题,那么他们知道哪个可信赖的成年人可以与他们交谈,这样他们就不会在沉默中受苦,这一点非常重要。

青少年的父母如何鼓励他们在线自我调节并采用新的代码在网上做出明智的选择?

作为一个青少年的父母,你可能会觉得他们的朋友现在比你更有影响力,当你试图传授你的智慧时,他们会睁开眼睛/走开/笑/拍你的头。 虽然他们的朋友无疑已经变得越来越重要,但你仍然是他们的安全网,但你可能不得不采取不同的方法。

小学时代的拥抱和聊天,当你分享你来之不易的智慧,并且他们以睿智的热情倾听时,可能已经消失了。 就像猫一样,如果你张开双臂跑向他们,他们可能会跑掉,但如果你不断出现,他们会在他们需要你的时候来。 但要做好准备。 这意味着要了解他们所居住的世界 - 尤其是在线世界。

了解行为准则(停止,发言,支持)。 创造轻松的机会,询问他们所做的一切,以及代码是否有意义。 让他们解释他们如何协商风险以及他们自己的经历。 他们很可能会高兴地告诉你他们是多么精明(与'这样和那样做'这个和那个'的学校'的'某某'相比)并抓住机会来强化为什么这个和那个是 决不要 一个好主意。 最重要的是保持沟通渠道畅通。 在需要时倾听,观察并做好准备。

Linda Papadopoulos博士

心理学家和互联网事务大使
专家网站

为年轻人浏览网络世界可能是令人生畏的,而且对于想要帮助他们的父母来说,感觉更是如此!

首先,关键是鼓励您的孩子或青少年采取节拍,停顿并真正考虑他们在网上发布的内容,以及他们喜欢和分享的内容。

在某些情况下,对其他年轻人造成的痛苦是隐藏的而不是明确的,因此发布使某人感到被排斥的图片的简单行为可能会导致意外的不安。 与孩子交谈看大局也很重要。 在管理情绪方面,孩子并不像成年人那样发达,因此,他们更倾向于情绪化和冲动。

在他们作出反应之前鼓励他们退后一步,更好地了解情况是关键。 邀请他们与你或关心他们感情的人说话,然后对这种情况做出“膝跳”反应。

社交网站的社区准则差异很大,请询问您的孩子是否了解这些指南。 以“现实世界”的方式讨论它们,确保他们理解他们为什么在那里,他们保护谁以及为什么这样做很重要。

最后,非常重要的是要及时了解并定期与您的孩子联系。 可能是这些都是“数字世界”的问题,但在所有这些技术的基础上,人类的感受和学习如何导航这些并教导你的孩子这样做是一个永远存在的育儿任务。

玛莎埃文斯

国家协调员,反欺凌联盟
专家网站

在考虑“网络欺凌法则”(说,停止,支持)时,与孩子谈论成为一个好的数字公民非常重要。 要求他们考虑如果面对面说内容是否同意?

鼓励他们注意其他人并报告他们在网上看到的内容。 您可以举一些公众眼中的例子来帮助实现这一点。 确保您也在线模拟了此行为,并为他们树立了榜样。

视他们的年龄而定,除非您有理由怀疑他们(或其他人)有遭受伤害的风险(例如,他们正在与危险的人谈话或在做爱(向某人发送露骨的色情图片或信息)),那么我们建议您不要监听他们的私人消息。 如果发现,这可能意味着您的孩子选择不与您共享并隐藏他们的在线活动。

相反,我们建议:

  • 公开交流他们的在线活动
  • 让他们放心,如果他们担心自己在网上看到的任何东西,他们可以来找你
  • 紧跟最新的技术趋势和时尚
  • 共同商定明确的界限,例如,在就寝时间关闭Wi-Fi

Tamasine Preece博士

个人和社会教育负责人
专家网站

青少年时代是天生的,具有挑战性和变革性,使年轻人有机会在他们接近成年时探索自我和价值观。

此外,这是他们开发技能的时候,这些技能将使他们能够驾驭复杂的成人世界。 为了做到这一点,重要的是在安全和适当的环境中探索和表达想法和身份,即使他们后来回顾过青少年自我的尴尬和恐惧,就像许多成年人一样。

社交媒体行为,例如记录青少年世界的细枝末节,扰乱了这个重要的人生阶段,使得应该永久性地转瞬即逝。 我们与孩子谈论对未来声誉和职业生涯的影响,但没有明确指出儿童在成长过程中否认自己和他人犯错误的权利这一事实。

通过参与“行为准则”,儿童和青少年能够反思他们想要成为的社区和更广阔的世界,以及他们希望在线和现在以及将来成为他们的人。 。

写下评论

向上滚动

How can I help my child take up a new digital ‘green cross code’ to be safe online?

As children become more independent online and begin to explore and express themselves, it can be harder to influence what they do. Our experts explore how you can use the new digital code to give them the support they need to have safer experience online.

Katie Collett

Katie Collett

Senior Anti-Bullying Project Manager, The Diana Award

Expert Website

How parents can support children in taking up the new code

Children are growing up as digital natives – they’ve never known a time without the internet. A new code of conduct from the Royal Foundation seeks to equip children with the tools they need to make the right choices as they navigate the online world.

There’s a crucial role for parents to help their children understand this code and use it to become good digital citizens. Read through the code with your child and make sure they know what it means in practice to STOP, SPEAK and SUPPORT.

Try to make this part of a regular, open conversation you have together about the online world to create an environment in which they feel comfortable approaching you with any concerns they might have.

Discuss different online scenarios that might come up and how your child would approach these, using the practical advice in the code to help them. Things like the report and block functions on most social media tools can give young people really helpful tools to deal with negative online situations independently. Above all, it’s really important that your child knows which trusted adult to talk to if they have a problem so that they never suffer in silence.

Comment on article

How can parents of teens encourage them to self-regulate online and take up a new code to make smart choices online?

As a parent of a teenager you may feel that their friends now have much more influence than you and when you try to impart your wisdom they roll their eyes/walk off/laugh/pat you on the head. While their friends undoubtedly have grown in significance, you are still their safety net, but you may have to take a different approach.

The cuddles and chats of the primary school years when you shared your hard-earned wisdom and they listened with bright eyed enthusiasm have probably gone.  Much like cats, if you run to them with open arms they will probably run off, but if you are a constant presence they’ll come when they need you.  But be prepared. That means understanding the world they live in – especially the online world.

Get to know that code of conduct (Stop, Speak, Support) back to front. Create relaxed opportunities to ask them what they make of it all, and whether the code makes sense. Ask them to explain how they negotiate the risks and what their own experiences have been.  The likelihood is they will delight in telling you how savvy they are (compared to ‘so and so’ from ‘such and such school’ who did ‘this and that’) and grab that opportunity to reinforce why this and that is never a good idea.   Above all keep the lines of communication open. Listen, watch and be ready when they need you.

Comment on article

Navigating the online world for young people can be daunting and for parents trying to help them, it can feel even more so!

In the first instance, what is key is to encourage your child or teen to take a beat, pause and really think about the things they post online but also the things that they like and share.

In some cases, the pain that is caused to other young people is hidden rather than explicit so the simple act of posting a picture that makes someone feel excluded can cause unintended upset. It’s also important to talk to your child about seeing the bigger picture. When it comes to managing emotions kids are not as well developed as adults and as such, they are more inclined to act emotionally and impulsively.

Encouraging them to stand back and gain a better perspective on the situation before they react to is key. Invite them to speak to you or someone close about their feelings before engaging in a ‘knee-jerk’ reaction to the situation.

Social networking sites vary considerably in what their community guidelines are so, ask your child if they are aware of these guidelines.  Discuss them in a ‘real world’ manner ensuring they understand why they are there, who they are protecting and why it important to do so.

Finally and very importantly stay informed and connect with your child regularly.  It may be the case that these are ‘digital world’ problems but at the basis of all this technology lie human feelings and learning how to navigate these and teaching your children to do so is a parenting task that’s been around forever.

Comment on article
Martha Evans

Martha Evans

National Coordinator, Anti-bullying Alliance

Expert Website

It is really important when thinking about the Cyberbullying Code – Speak, Stop, Support – that you talk to your child about being a good digital citizen. Ask them to think about whether they would agree with content if it was said face to face?

Encourage them to look out for others and report what they see online. You could use examples in public eye to help bring this to life. Make sure you model this behaviour online as well and set an example to them.

Depending on their age and unless you have reason to suspect they or others are at risk of harm – for example, they are talking to a dangerous person or they are sexting (sending someone sexually explicit images or messages) – then we would advise not to snoop on their private messages. If found out, this could mean that your child chooses not to share with you and hides their online activity.

Instead, we would advise:

Have open communication about their online activity

Reassure them they can come to you if they are worried about anything they see online

Keep up to date with the new technological trends and fashions

Agree together clear boundaries, for example, turning the Wi-Fi off by bedtime

Comment on article
Dr Tamasine Preece

Dr Tamasine Preece

Head of Personal and Social Education

Expert Website

The teenage years are by nature, challenging and transformative, giving young people the opportunity to explore their sense of self and values as they approach adulthood.

Also, it’s a time when they are developing the skills that will enable them to navigate the complex adult world. In order to do so, it is important that ideas and identity are explored and expressed in safe and appropriate contexts, even if they later look back in embarrassment and horror at their teenage self, as many adults do.

Social media behaviours such as recording the minutiae of the adolescent world disrupt this important life stage in terms of making what should be fleeting permanent. We talk to children about the impact on future reputation and career but don’t make explicit the fact that children are denying themselves and others the right to make mistakes as part of the growing up process.

Through engagement with the Code of Conduct, children and young people are able to reflect on the community and wider world to which they would like to belong as well as the person that they would like to be, on and offline, now and in the future.

Comment on article