结交朋友并在线管理真正的友谊 - 来自家长的提示

互联网是一个很好的连接点,但是我们怎样才能确保孩子们在网上社交时能够成为合适的数字朋友并避免误解的陷阱? 老师和妈妈艾丽德分享她的“门户开放政策”和其他帮助她抚养孩子的事情。

作为一名前任小学教师,Eilidh Gallagher拥有丰富的经验,了解孩子们管理他们的人际关系的重要性。 当涉及到自己的孩子时,这一点尤其重要。

与孩子们谈论在线互动

“当我们看到在线视频和玩游戏时,我就开始和孩子谈论在线关系,”Eilidh说。 “我很幸运能够在工作中接受大量的在线安全培训,我已将其付诸实践。”

从大约六岁起,Eilidh的孩子就被告知了在线安全的重要性,以及为什么某些游戏或网站可能超出限制。 Eilidh还确保查看相关网站和报纸,了解可能存在的危险情况。 “如果我不确定任何事情,我会倾向于在网上研究它,”她补充道。

Eilidh专注于帮助孩子们在接触网络关系时充满信心。 “我告诉他们,如果有什么东西让他们不舒服,或有人说你不喜欢的东西,那么他们可以告诉我或其他成年人,他们永远不会遇到麻烦,”艾利德说。

鼓励'礼节'

第二个重要的规则是在网上和你在现实生活中一样善良。 “我们说不要在网上向任何人说任何你在现实生活中都不会说的话。 我们谈论网络欺凌,它看起来像什么,以及后果可能是什么,“Eilidh说。

Eilidh的女儿正处于青少年的边缘,并渴望拥有社交媒体账户和在线朋友。 “我和年龄较大的孩子有朋友,他们坚持认为孩子的个人资料可供父母使用,我们可能会走这条路,”艾利德说。

谈到友谊,Eilidh和她的搭档向所有孩子们讲述了离线发生的友谊和事情,这可能会影响到网络世界。 这是一个真正令人担忧的领域。 “他们已经告诉我他们看到人们不在网上的时候,我们已经说过如果朋友不高兴就告诉成年人了。”

与朋友在线与离线问题

Eilidh说,孩子们在线关系中遇到的许多问题与离线发现的问题完全相同。 例如,Eilidh的儿子最近听说其他孩子一直在网上对他说不好的话。 “我们谈到了人们如何在网上说出不真实的事情,或者说他们不会对别人说话,”艾利德说。 “但实际上,我就像在操场上发生的那样接近它。”

采取“门户开放政策”

家人关于在线与陌生人交谈的规则非常严格。 还有一个家庭“门户开放”的政策,以便孩子们只能在妈妈或爸爸可以进入的区域访问互联网,以检查发生了什么。

Eilidh的长子是11,最近才被允许在线玩游戏。 但是,这只能在家中受到监督。 “我的11岁已经在朋友家里玩陌生人在网上谈话,他知道我的规则是什么,”艾利德说。 “不得分享个人信息,如果有什么事让他感到不舒服,他可以随时离开谈话,而不必担心让对方感到不安。”

形成数字关系的好处

虽然在线关系可能具有挑战性,但还有很多好处可以平衡。 “我最近搬家的学校,能够和老朋友一起在网上玩游戏,让他感到不那么难过,”Eilidh解释道。 “我在网上遇到了我的未婚夫,并且有很多在线友谊,所以孩子们肯定知道在线关系有积极的一面!”

Eilidh,34,她的3小孩和未婚夫住在贝德福德郡。 作为一名前任教师,她作为自由撰稿人和博主在家工作。

最近的帖子

向上滚动

Making friends and managing real friendships online – tips from a parent

By Internet Matters Team on

The internet is a great place to connect but how can we ensure children are making the right digital friends and avoiding the pitfalls of misunderstandings while socialising online? Teacher and mum Eilidh shares her ‘open door policy’ and other things that have helped her to support her children.

As a former primary teacher, Eilidh Gallagher has plenty of experience seeing how important it is for children to manage their relationships. And when it comes to her own children, it’s especially important.

Talking to children about interacting online

“I started talking to my children about online relationships as soon as they were watching online videos and playing games,” Eilidh says. “I was lucky to have lots of training on online safety at work, which I put into practice at home.”

From the age of around six, Eilidh’s children were taught about the importance of being safe online, and why certain games or sites might be out of limits. Eilidh also makes sure to check relevant websites and the newspapers for updates about possible dangers. “If I’m unsure of anything, I will tend to research it online,” she adds.

Eilidh has focused on helping her children to feel confident in approaching online relationships. “I tell them if something makes them uncomfortable, or someone says something you don’t like, then they can tell me or another adult, and they will NEVER be in trouble,” says Eilidh.

Encouraging ‘netiquette’

The second important rule is to be as kind online as you would be in real life. “We say not to say anything to anyone online that you wouldn’t say in real life. We talk about cyberbullying, what it looks like, and what the consequences might be,” says Eilidh.

Eilidh’s daughter is on the verge of her teens, and eager to have social media accounts and online friends. “I have friends with older children and they insist that the children’s profiles are accessible to parents, we may go down that route,” says Eilidh.

When it comes to friendships, Eilidh and her partner talk to all the children about friendships and things that happen offline, that might spill out into the online world. It’s an area of real concern. “They’ve already told me about times they have seen people not being kind online, and we’ve spoken about telling an adult if a friend is upset.”

Online versus offline issues with friends

Many of the issues kids have with online relationships are exactly the same as those found offline, Eilidh says. For example, Eilidh’s son recently heard that other children had been saying unkind things about him online. “We talked about how people can say things online that aren’t true, or that they wouldn’t say to someone’s face,” says Eilidh. “But really, I approached it just as I would if it happened on the playground.”

Taking on an ‘open door policy’

The family’s rules around talking to strangers online are very strict. There is also a household ‘open door’ policy so that the children only access the Internet in areas where Mum or Dad can pop in to check what’s happening.

Eilidh’s eldest son, who is 11, has only recently been allowed to play games online. However, this is only allowed at home, under supervision. “My 11-year-old has talked to strangers online when playing at friends’ houses, and he knows what my rules are,” says Eilidh. “There is to be no sharing of personal information, and if anything makes him uncomfortable, he can leave a conversation at any time without worrying about upsetting the other person.”

Benefits of forming digital relationships

Although online relationships can be challenging, there are plenty of upsides to balance it out. “My eldest recently moved schools and being able to play games online with old friends has helped him feel less sad about leaving them,” explains Eilidh. “I met my fiancé online, and have lots of online friendships, so the children definitely know there are positives to having online relationships!”

See more parent stories

More to explore

If you’d like to learn more about how you can help your children stay safe online, here are some great resources:

E-safety issues – tips for parents 

Expert article: How can I help my child manage their friendships online safely?

E-safety advice by age 

Social networking advice

Setting controls on devices

Eilidh, 34, lives in Bedfordshire with her 3 kids and fiancé. A former teacher, she works from home as a freelance writer and blogger.