使用家长控制在线保护孩子的最佳方法是什么?

家长控制可以用作安全网,以保护您的孩子免受他们不准备看到的内容,但最好确保他们知道这些是为什么被使用。 我们的专家通过让孩子们入住,为您提供有关如何充分利用他们的方法的见解。


Elizabeth Milovidov博士,Esq

法学教授和数字育儿专家
专家网站

父母使用家长控制和隐私设置让孩子安全上网的最佳方式是什么?

如果父母经常与孩子谈论他们使用互联网,技术和社交媒体,那么更容易证明家长控制和隐私设置的好处。 家长可以解释他们希望自己的孩子能够在线探索和学习,但必须有平衡和界限。

家长控制可能有助于帮助父母 - 及其子女 - 找到平衡点。

家长控制软件和应用程序是一种技术支持,其功能范围从时间,活动和内容限制到监视和跟踪工具。 根据孩子的年龄和成熟程度,某些家长控制可能比其他家长更合适。

父母控制对某些父母非常有用,但它们应被视为预防和保护的一种衡量标准。 儿童仍然需要能够探索互联网,技术和社交媒体,以便利用在线机会,遇到风险并建立适应力。

家长控制提示

家长可以通过让孩子参与其应用和使用,将父母控制引入他们的日常家庭生活中。

家长可以展示控制将限制的内容,并阻止并解释其重要性。

首先考虑一下,如何定期参与孩子的数字生活,成为“父母控制者”。

问“你今天过得怎么样”,然后是“今天你的在线日”,或者类似的变化。

请记住,许多技术家长控制可以通过简单的在线搜索“如何禁用家长控制”来规避。

在孩子发育的不同时间,父母控制可能是适当的 - 特别是当父母指导他们的孩子发展执行功能和自我调节技能时。

请记住,家长控制仅适用于您孩子的设备,不会限制从同学设备上查看的内容。

在孩子们的合作中使用家长控制的最佳方式是什么?

最好的父控件,如Switch或带有迪士尼设备的Circle,可让父母轻松查看孩子的在线活动,而不仅仅是将其锁定的方法。 这意味着更健康的家长控制视角不是限制危险的工具,而是与儿童进行更深入对话的第一步,即适当和有用的限制。

要有效地应用任何家长控制,您需要了解您的孩子如何玩游戏,以及他们可能易受伤害的地方。 作为一个家庭一起玩游戏不仅可以让你掌握这一点,还可以减轻一些风险。

当您使用不同的游戏内容时,一些研究会有很长的路要走。 使用像这样的网站 视频标准委员会 或者我提供的新闻通讯 Patreon 更广泛地了解游戏内容带来的危险和机遇。

从这里,您可以同意对父母设置采用智能和分层的方法。 这意味着您可以为与您家庭中不同年龄的用户相关的特定用户应用家长控制。 您还可以根据一天中的时间以及当前玩家可能在房间内的其他人来应用限制。

无论您采取何种方式,与您的孩子一起玩游戏,研究您设备上可用的家长设置,并同意整个家庭的限制。 这肯定会为您的孩子建立安全和明智的游戏习惯。

Elizabeth Milovidov博士,Esq

法学教授和数字育儿专家
专家网站

家长如何鼓励孩子将隐私设置视为积极的事情,而不是限制他们可能好奇的内容的限制性方法?

家长可以而且应该鼓励他们的孩子看到隐私设置是一件积极的事情,可以保护孩子的数字身份和声誉。 帮助孩子理解隐私的一种方法是让他们想象将帖子,图像,文字或推文放在广告牌上并设置在校园中间供所有人查看。 隐私设置还可以提供额外的保护层,防止儿童接收不适当的内容。

隐私设置提示

永远不要提供网站创建帐户所需的更多信息

仅仅因为你可以向公众发布,并不意味着你应该

社交媒体会优化隐私设置,因此请定期检查

您孩子的学校也应该在学校软件和资源中拥有适当的隐私设置

通过查看包括您自己的所有设备来定期进行隐私检查

养成在社交媒体平台和网站上检查安全中心的习惯

提醒您的孩子,即使他们使用隐私设置并仅限于他们的朋友,他们的朋友仍然可以通过其他方式共享该信息。 更好的经验法则是不首先发布不适当的内容和图像。

Linda Papadopoulos博士

心理学家和互联网事务大使
专家网站

家长如何鼓励孩子将隐私设置视为积极的事情,而不是限制他们可能好奇的内容的限制性方法?

家长可以而且应该鼓励他们的孩子看到隐私设置是一件积极的事情,可以保护孩子的数字身份和声誉。 帮助孩子理解隐私的一种方法是让他们想象将帖子,图像,文字或推文放在广告牌上并设置在校园中间供所有人查看。 隐私设置还可以提供额外的保护层,防止儿童接收不适当的内容。

隐私设置提示

永远不要提供网站创建帐户所需的更多信息

仅仅因为你可以向公众发布,并不意味着你应该

社交媒体会优化隐私设置,因此请定期检查

您孩子的学校也应该在学校软件和资源中拥有适当的隐私设置

通过查看包括您自己的所有设备来定期进行隐私检查

养成在社交媒体平台和网站上检查安全中心的习惯

提醒您的孩子,即使他们使用隐私设置并仅限于他们的朋友,他们的朋友仍然可以通过其他方式共享该信息。 更好的经验法则是不首先发布不适当的内容和图像。

写下评论

向上滚动

What is the best way to use parental controls to protect my child online?

Parental controls can be used as a safety net to protect your child from content they are not ready to see but it’s best to make sure they know ‘why’ these are being used. Our experts give insights on ways you can make the most of them by getting children bought in.

Dr. Elizabeth Milovidov, Esq

Dr. Elizabeth Milovidov, Esq

Law professor and Digital Parenting Expert

Expert Website

What is the best way for parents to use parental controls and privacy settings to keep kids safe online? 

If parents are having regular conversations with their children about their use of the internet, technology and social media, it is much easier to demonstrate the benefits of parental controls and privacy settings.  Parents can explain that they want their children to be able to explore and learn online, but that there must be balance and boundaries.

Parental controls may be useful in helping parents – and their children – find that balance.

Parental control software and apps are a technical support with functionalities ranging from time, activity and content restrictions to monitoring and tracking tools.  Depending on the age and maturity of a child, certain parental controls may be more appropriate than others.

Parental controls can be very useful for some parents, but they should be considered as just one measure of prevention and protection. Children still need to be able to explore the internet, technology and social media in order to take advantage of online opportunities, encounter risks and build resilience.

Parental control tips

Parents can introduce parental controls into their everyday family life by involving children in their application and use.

Parents can show what the control will limit and block and explain why it is important.

Consider first, how you can be the ‘parental control’ with regular involvement in your child’s digital life.

Ask “how was your day today,” followed by “how was your online day” today, or some similar variation.

Remember that many technical parental controls can be circumvented by a simple online search for “how to disable parental controls”.

Parental controls can be appropriate at different times of a child’s development – and especially as parents’ guide their children in the development of executive functioning and self-regulation skills.

Remember that parental controls are only good on your child’s device and will not restrict content viewed from a classmates’ device.

Comment on article
Andy Robertson

Andy Robertson

Freelance games expert

Expert Website

What is the best way to use parental controls with the children’s cooperation?

The best parent controls, like those on the Switch or the Circle with Disney device, give parents easy visibility of their children’s online activity and not just ways to lock it down. This means that a healthier perspective on parental controls is not as a tool to restrict dangers but as the first step towards a deeper conversation with children about what limits are appropriate and helpful.

To apply any parental controls effectively you need to understand how games are played by your children, and where they may be vulnerable. Playing games together as a family not only lets you get to grips with this but also mitigates some of the risks.

As you engage with different gaming content, a little research goes a long way. Use sites like the Video Standards Council or the newsletters I offer on Patreon to gain a broader understanding of the dangers and opportunities that gaming content presents.

From here you are in a position to agree an intelligent and layered approach to the parental settings. This means you can apply parental controls for specific users that relate to the different ages of users in your family. You can also apply limits based on time of day as well as who else might be in the room with the current player.

Whatever approach you take, play games together with your children, research the parental settings available on your devices and agree limits with the whole family. This is sure to establish safe and sensible gaming habits in your children.

Comment on article
Dr. Elizabeth Milovidov, Esq

Dr. Elizabeth Milovidov, Esq

Law professor and Digital Parenting Expert

Expert Website

How can parents encourage children to see privacy settings as a positive thing, rather than a restrictive method to block content they may be curious to see?

Parents can and should encourage their children to see that privacy settings are a positive thing that will protect the child’s digital identity and reputation.  One way to help children understand privacy is to have them imagine that post, image, text or tweet placed on a billboard and set in the middle of the schoolyard for everyone to see.  Privacy settings can also provide an additional layer of protection and prevent children from receiving inappropriate content.

Privacy settings tips

Never give more information that the site needs to create an account

Just because you can post to the public, doesn’t mean that you should

Social media refine privacy settings so check in regularly

Your child’s school should have appropriate privacy settings in school software and resources as well

Perform regular privacy check-ups by reviewing all devices, including your own

Get into the habit of checking the safety centres on social media platforms and websites

Remind your children that even if they use privacy settings and restrict to their friends only, that their friends can still share that information in other ways. A better rule of thumb is to not post inappropriate content and images in the first place.

Comment on article

What can parents do if their children are rebelling against the use of parental controls and privacy settings on their devices? 

Setting boundaries is an important part of parenting, and while being supportive and nurturing comes easy to most parents, the setting of boundaries often feels a bit more difficult.

From bedtimes and curfews to the more modern issues of tech use, privacy settings and parental controls, ensuring that you strike the right balance of support and guidance is key to helping your kids develop the skills they need to navigate the world around them.

Indeed, rules and routines that are set and monitored by parents create predictability in a child’s life. Predictability reduces uncertainty, and that reduces anxiety- and in this tech fuelled world this is key.   So if your child is rebelling against rules that you’ve set on their device then following these steps might help:

Explain why boundaries are important:

Talk to your child about the fact you are not doing this to make their lives more difficult but rather because like any new behaviour that they engage in you need to ensure that they are safe and protected while doing it.

Discuss why you have decided on this particular set of rules: 

Your child is much more likely to follow a set of rules if they understand them.  Talk through the reasons why you are using privacy settings and parental controls, give real-world examples that they can relate to and invite them to ask questions- the more involved and listened to they feel the more likely they’ll be to respect the rules you are setting out.

Clarify that as they grow things will change: 

In the same way that when they first rode a bike they rode a tricycle and then they had training wheels and only then did they ride a 2 wheeler on their own- explain that as they get older and show you that they are responsible and capable online that you will revisit and adapt these rules- knowing that their freedom on devices is contingent on how responsible they are in the way they use them will motivate them to engage with boundaries around use.

And finally, maintain empathy for them: 

Try and remember how it was for you to be a kid, make a point of expressing empathy and talking about your struggles and mistakes. You may not have had the internet growing up but no doubt your parents  would have put restrictions on phones or outings that you didn’t agree with – so acknowledge your child’s feelings saying things like  “I remember feeling that way,“ or “I made similar choices.”  Ultimately, kids want to know that someone understands where they are coming from and if you do – even if they might disagree with you, they are more likely to acknowledge your point of view too.

Comment on article