在线同意和图像共享 - 妈妈分享了教青少年安全分享的挑战

在网上分享视频,模因和图像时,鼓励年轻人理解同意的最佳方式是什么? Antonia分享了她的经验和技巧,帮助她支持了她十几岁的女儿。

像大多数同龄女孩一样,安东尼亚的女儿们都热衷于技术。 每个女孩都有一部手机,用于Snapchat和Instagram。

看到不合适图像的影响

Antonia认为,同意和尊重应该是她孩子使用移动技术的核心。 “最终,这是一个儿童保护问题,”她说。 “我们的女儿们一直非常清楚,一旦将图像发布到社交媒体上,图像很难控制,以及不恰当的图像如何对某人的生活造成潜在的灾难性影响。”

Antonia说,关于同意和共享图像的新闻报道可以成为开始对话的有用提示。 但最终规则很简单。 “如果你不把它的照片挂在我们的前门上,就不适合与互联网或其他任何人分享。”

共享图像时了解同意

值得庆幸的是,女子学校一直非常积极地与孩子们讨论负责任地分享图像的重要性,并且在发布图像或个人信息之前总是征得他人的许可。 尽管如此,安东尼亚承认她仍然担心女孩的安全。 她说:“我确实担心,我的孩子,像任何人一样,可能会被说服在某种情况下给予同意,但后来才后悔。”

给父母的建议:进行对话

Antonia对父母的建议是尽早开始关于同意的对话,并保持您使用的语言与年龄相适应。 “你必须简化你为年幼孩子所使用的语言,但我认为诚实和开放是最好的政策。 我们的孩子需要有足够的能力应对现代技术的挑战。“

当她转向11时,安东妮亚的大女儿有了第一部手机。 在这个时候,谈话非常关乎不接受陌生人的朋友请求,而不是发布太多的自拍照。 随着埃琳娜年龄的增长,这种对话已经发生了变化。 “现在,我们被迫以更多的性别方式讨论社交媒体和同意问题,”安东尼亚说。 “我也观察到它似乎比五年前更早地影响了孩子们。”

处理分享裸体的问题

例如,安东尼亚说,在当地学校社区内出现了色情短片和分享裸照的问题。 “我必须与11岁一样清楚,因为我知道它正在学校讨论。 我宁愿他们收到我的明确信息,而不是他们的朋友。“

分享模因和视频

女孩们经历的另一个问题是分享模因和录像。 “曾经有一些场合我们看过有人喝醉,摔倒或穿着狡猾的衣服的视频,”安东尼亚说。 “在这种情况下,我们讨论了该内容的不公平性,以及是否已经同意。 我们解释说,这样的事情会影响你的心理健康,工作前景甚至是人际关系。 作为父母,这对我们来说是一个很大的问题。“

安东尼亚和她的丈夫定期与女孩们聊聊同意,并且此刻感到非常自信。 “女孩们相信他们的朋友不要张贴他们不喜欢的照片,”她说。 “如果他们讨厌,他们也有信心要求他们被拆除。 他们意识到了这个问题,但并不关心。“

谈论技术的积极使用

这种态度让安东尼亚感到安心,他希望女孩们对技术持积极态度。 “这是日常生活中的一部分,我认为我们不能吓唬孩子们使用智能手机和社交媒体。 我们必须尽力设定明确的界限,并教育他们。“

Antonia的最重要的提示是对孩子使用清晰的语言,并举例说明什么是不合适的。 “最终,只要让他们知道,如果一切都出错,他们可以而且必须和你谈谈。”

pdf图像

安东尼亚是一名全职工作的妈妈。 她在博客上写道 tinkertailor.online 与丈夫和三个女儿Elena(15),Izzy(13)和Maia(11)住在北伦敦。

更多探索

如果您想了解更多关于如何帮助您的孩子保持在线安全的信息,请访问以下资源:

最近的帖子

向上滚动

Online consent & images sharing – Mum shares challenges of teaching teens to share safely

By Ghislaine Bombusa on

What is the best way to encourage young people to understand consent when it comes to sharing videos, memes, and images online? Antonia shares her experience and tips that have helped her support her teenaged daughters.

Like most girls their age, Antonia’s daughters are keen users of technology. Each girl has a phone, which they use for Snapchat and Instagram.

Impact of seeing inappropriate images

Antonia believes consent and respect should be at the heart of her children’s use of mobile technology. “Ultimately, it’s a matter of child protection,” she says. “We’ve always been very clear with our daughters about the fact that images are hard to control once they are posted to social media, and how inappropriate images can have a potentially catastrophic effect on someone’s life.”

News stories around consent and sharing of images can be a useful prompt to start conversations, says Antonia. But ultimately the rules are simple. “If you wouldn’t hang a photo of it on our front door, it won’t be appropriate to share with the Internet or anyone else.”

Understanding consent when sharing images

Thankfully the girls’ schools have been very proactive in talking to the children about the importance of sharing images responsibly, and always asking permission from someone before posting an image or personal information about them. Despite this, Antonia confesses that she still worries about the girls’ safety. “I do worry that my children, like anyone, might be persuaded to give consent in a certain situation, only to regret it later,” she says.

Advice to parents: Have a conversation

Antonia’s advice for parents is to start the conversation about consent early and keep the language you use age-appropriate. “You have to simplify the language you use for younger children, but I think honesty and openness is the best policy. Our children need to be well equipped to deal with the challenges of modern technology.”

Antonia’s eldest daughter had her first mobile phone when she turned 11. At this time, the conversations were very much about not accepting friend requests from strangers, and not posting too many selfies. As Elena has grown older, that conversation has evolved. “Now, we are forced to discuss social media and the issue of consent in more sexual terms,” says Antonia. “I’ve also observed it’s something that seems to be affecting children earlier than perhaps five years ago.”

Dealing with the issue of sharing nudes

For example, the issue of sexting and sharing nude photos has come up several times within the local school community, Antonia says. “I have to be just as clear with the 11-year-old as the 15-year-old because I know it’s being discussed in school. I’d rather they get a clear message from me, and not their friends.”

Sharing memes and videos

Another issue that the girls have experienced has been sharing of memes and videos. “There have been a few occasions where we’ve seen videos of someone drunk, falling over, or wearing a dodgy outfit,” says Antonia. “In that case, we’ve discussed the unfairness of that content, and whether consent would have been given. We explain that anything like that can affect your mental health, work prospects, and even relationships. It’s a big concern for us as parents.”

Antonia and her husband regularly chat to the girls about consent, and at the moment feel quite confident. “The girls trust their friends not to post photographs of them they don’t like,” she says. “They also feel confident to ask for them to be taken down if they hate it. They’re conscious of the issue, but not concerned.”

Talking about the positive use of technology

This attitude reassures Antonia, who wants the girls to have a positive view of technology. “It’s so much a part of the fabric of everyday life, I don’t think we can scare children out of using smartphones and social media. We just have to do our best to set clear boundaries, and educate them well.”

Antonia’s top tips would be to use clear language with children and give examples of what is and isn’t appropriate. “Ultimately, just let them know they can and must talk to you if it all goes wrong.”

See more parent stories
Antonia is a full-time working Mum. She blogs at tinkertailor.online and lives in North London with her husband and three daughters, Elena (15), Izzy (13) and Maia (11).

Additional information

If you’d like to learn more about how you can help your children stay safe online, here are some great resources:

E-safety issues – tips for parents 

Safer Intenet Day 2019 Pledge2Talk resources

E-safety advice by age 

Social networking advice

Setting controls on devices