爸爸们支持科技对孩子们生活的积极力量

使用技术提高孩子的技能和与世界的联系,爸爸们分享他们如何鼓励他们的男孩使用一系列智能技术来开发新技能和丰富他们的家庭时间。

有两个爸爸在技术方面工作,这个家庭喜欢他们的小工具就不足为奇了!

除了手机和笔记本电脑外,Jamie的男孩还可以使用由Google Home控制的灯光和音乐,两个游戏控制台和几个STEM电子套件,让男孩们可以制作自己的小工具。 “我们最喜欢的是一款名为Sam's Curious Cars的应用控制车载套件!”Jamie说。

享受适合年龄的科技

两个男孩都被教导说,如果他们的行为很差,那么技术就是一种特权。 “我们确实有他们的手机和PS4的条件,它们被家庭设置锁定,只有Whatsapp或Hangouts上的少数几个联系人,”Jamie说。 “PS4通常仅限于周末使用适合12年及以下的游戏。 虽然我们可能偶尔会有更多成人游戏,他们可以通过声音和成人监督来玩。“

这个圣诞节男孩将被视为电子电路科学玩具。 “这是我们多年来一直热切期待男孩们介绍的事情,”杰米说。 “他们也在接收PS4的新游戏,我希望有一款新的高端蓝牙音箱。”

通过技术丰富家庭时间

技术是丰富家庭时间的好方法。 “我们最喜欢的家庭游戏正在播放'猜测'我们使用Spotify和Tom's降噪耳机的歌曲,”Jamie解释道。 “男孩们轮流唱歌,他们以前从未听过,而另一半的家庭必须猜出这首歌。 这很有趣,我相信我们可能已经发明了畅销书!“

全家人也喜欢在PS4上玩Playlink游戏。 这个家庭最喜欢的是知识就是电力十年,它让爸爸和男孩们使用他们自己的设备相互竞争,与PS4相连。

假日期间的离线乐趣

虽然这个家庭是巨大的技术爱好者,但是有充足的时间来享受非科技乐趣。 Lyall和Richard都喜欢书籍,工艺品和外面玩耍。 “只要有平衡,我们很高兴他们在圣诞节期间玩新技术,”杰米说。 “PS4连接到主家庭电视,因此他们只有有限的时间才能播放我们想要观看的内容。”

科技的力量教孩子们新技能

杰米认为,获得技术对两个男孩都有一些强大的好处。 “他们可以通过Whatsapp向家人发送消息,他们通过他们的工具包学习编码和电子设备。 即使玩视频游戏也会教他们竞争和合作。 更不用说它给了汤姆和我一些安静的时间给自己。“

Jamie Beaglehole和他的未婚夫Tom住在莱斯特,他们的两个领养男孩,Lyall和Richard,年龄为9和8。 杰米是一个 博客汤姆是一家大型科技公司的董事。

最近的帖子

向上滚动

Dads champion the positive power tech has on their children’s lives

By Internet Matters Team on

Using technology to enhance their children’s skills and connection to the world, Dads share how they encourage their boys to use a range of smart tech to develop new skills and enrich their family time.

With two Dads working in technology, it’s hardly surprising that this family loves their gadgets!

Alongside phones and laptops, Jamie’s boys have access to lights and music controlled by Google Home, two games consoles, and several STEM electronics kits, that allow the boys to build their own gadgets. “Our favourite is an app-controlled car kit called Sam’s Curious Cars!” says Jamie.

Enjoying age-appropriate tech

Both boys are taught that technology is a privilege that can be removed if their behaviour is poor. “We do have conditions around their phones and PS4, which are locked down with family settings and only a handful of contacts on Whatsapp or Hangouts,” says Jamie. “The PS4 is generally restricted to weekend use with games suitable for 12 years and under. Although we might have the occasional more grown-up game that they can play with sound-off and adult supervision.”

This Christmas the boys will be treated to electronic circuit science toys. “It’s something we’ve been eagerly waiting to introduce the boys to for many years,” says Jamie. “They’re also receiving new games for the PS4, and I’m hoping for a new, high-end Bluetooth speaker.”

Enriching family time with technology

Technology is a great way to enrich the family’s time together. “Our favourite family game is playing ‘guess the song’ where we use Spotify and Tom’s noise-cancelling headphones,” explains Jamie. “The boys take turns to sing along to music they’ve never heard before, and the other half of the family must guess the song. It’s hilarious and I’m sure we may have invented a top-seller!”

The whole family also love to play Playlink games on the PS4. The family’s favourite is Knowledge is Power Decades, which lets the Dads and boys compete against each other using their own devices, hooked up to the PS4.

Offline fun during the holidays

Although the family are huge tech-fans, there’s plenty of time for non-tech fun. Both Lyall and Richard love books, crafts and playing outside. “So long as there’s a balance, we’re happy for them to play with new tech over Christmas,” says Jamie. “The PS4 is connected to the main family TV, so they only have a limited amount of time to play before something we all want to watch comes on.”

Power of tech to teach kids new skills

Jamie believes that having access to technology has some powerful benefits for both boys. “They can send messages to family members via Whatsapp, and they’re learning about coding and electronics via their kits. Even playing a video game teaches them about competing and co-operating nicely together. Not to mention that it gives Tom and I some quiet time to ourselves.”

See more parent stories

Additional information

If you’d like to learn more about how you can help your children stay safe online, here are some great resources:

E-safety issues – tips for parents 

Online gaming tips 

E-safety advice by age 

Social networking advice

Setting controls on devices

Jamie Beaglehole lives in Leicester with his fiancé Tom, and their two adopted boys, Lyall and Richard, aged 9 and 8. Jamie is a blogger, while Tom works as a director for a major technology firm.