新的研究揭示了年轻人在线分享内容的积极和挑战

受委托进行的新研究 英国更安全的互联网中心 揭示了分享和观看内容如何成为年轻人生活中不可或缺的一部分,以及随之而来的积极因素和挑战。

更安全的互联网日2019:共同创造更好的互联网

这项研究不仅仅是英国的2000支持者,包括政府部长,英超联赛足球俱乐部,行业机构,名人,慈善机构,学校和警察服务人员与年轻人一起,激励全英国人民点燃对话并主持更安全互联网日活动,有助于促进儿童和青少年安全,负责任和积极地使用数字技术。

互联网帮助年轻人了解周围的世界

在日益数字化的世界中,每天都有年轻人分享各种内容, 65%表示,如果他们无法上网,他们会感到与世隔绝。 帮助他们理解他们的日常生活和更广泛的社会,70%的年轻人说,在线帮助他们了解世界上正在发生的事情,而60%因为互联网而只知道某些问题或新闻。

至关重要的是,年轻人正在利用互联网作为一个安全的空间来理解和导航他们紧张询问的话题,67%表示在线学习它们更容易。 令人鼓舞的是,互联网已经帮助将近一半(46%)度过了困难时期。

凭借技术使我们能够比以往更快地连接和学习,48%的年轻人表示,在线使他们觉得他们的声音和行动很重要。 42%最大限度地利用互联网的集体力量,通过分享对活动,社交活动或请愿的支持,激发了采取积极行动的灵感。

84%年轻人认为他们有责任尊重其他网络

然而,年轻人在线连接的无数方式意味着他们还必须在分享之前了解要求和给予许可的复杂性。 年轻人在网上有强烈的对与错感,压倒性的84%认为每个人都有责任尊重他人。 然而,在实践中,几乎一半(48%)承认他们的同伴并不总是在他们发布之前思考。 36%的年轻人至少每周都会分享其他人的照片,评论或消息的屏幕截图。

当涉及到在线同意时,这会使年轻人面临一个令人困惑的环境,并且在如何理解这一点上缺乏共识。 一半的年轻人(51%)认为他们的朋友在标记之前应该请求许可 他们或分享他们的照片或视频,而37%认为他们的父母应该问。 此外,27%可能会在未经他们许可的情况下阅读朋友的消息。

尽管81%知道何时以及如何询问,但年轻人在发布之前也没有获得许可。 因此,在去年超过一半的年轻人 (52%)说他们认识的人在没有询问的情况下分享了他们的照片或视频。

违反同意对年轻人的影响

这种违反同意的行为可能会让年轻人感到焦虑或不能控制(39%),而且缺乏明确性对他们的生活产生真正的影响。

即使在寻求许可的情况下,年轻人也面临着进一步的压力。 尽管有信心告诉他们的朋友(82%)和父母(85%)不要在网上分享关于他们的东西,但实际上很难说不。 在过去的一年, 34%对于他们在线共享的内容表示赞成,即使他们不希望这样。

左侧工具栏上的'当违反同意时,规则也会混淆。 虽然大多数年轻人总是会删除他们发布的有关朋友的信息,但36%却不会。 令人鼓舞的是,年轻人反对他们在网上看到的不公正现象,而68%会报告未经许可分享的有关他们的事情。 如果发生在朋友身上,63%会报告。

英国更安全的互联网中心主任Will Gardner OBE说:

“毫无疑问,在线分享和与他人联系是年轻人日常生活中不可或缺的一部分。 今天的研究结果令人鼓舞,突出了年轻人对网上什么是正确的认识,并利用互联网为自己和他人做出积极的改变。

“然而,我们的研究表明,如果没有明确的指导来解决在线同意的复杂性,年轻人的态度和行为之间的差距是惊人的。

教育部长Damian Hinds说:

“我们必须为儿童提供使用技术的技能,并有效和安全地利用在线世界。 我们正在所有小学和义务教育中实行关系教育 关系与性教育 所有中学都必须参加现有的计算机课程。 教师将以与学生生活相关的方式处理在线安全和适当行为。

内政大臣萨吉德·贾维德说:

“政府致力于保护儿童的安全。 我们正在与科技行业密切合作,使互联网成为一个更安全,更负责任的地方。“

“所有的孩子都会被告知在线友谊以及面对面的关系。 我希望孩子们明白,他们在操场上教授的良好行为和善意的规则也适用于网上。“

Childnet Digital Leaders就更安全的互联网日2019在线同意回答关键问题

更多探索

从英国更安全的互联网中心研究中获取更多信息,以及如何参与更安全的互联网日

最近的帖子

向上滚动

New research reveals the positives and challenges of young people sharing content online

New research commissioned by the UK Safer Internet Centre reveals how sharing and viewing content is integral to the lives of young people, and the positives and challenges that come with this.

Safer Internet Day 2019: Together for a better internet

The research comes as more than 2000 supporters in the UK, including Government ministers, Premier League football clubs, industry bodies, celebrities, charities, schools and police services join together with young people, to inspire people throughout the UK to ignite conversations and host Safer Internet Day events that help promote the safe, responsible and positive use of digital technology for children and young people.

The Internet helps young people make sense of the world around them

In an increasingly digitised world, with young people sharing a variety of content every day, 65% say they would feel disconnected from the world if they couldn’t be online. Helping them to make sense of their daily lives and wider society, 70% of young people say being online helps them understand what’s happening in the world and 60% only know about certain issues or news because of the internet.

Crucially, young people are using the internet as a safe space to understand and navigate topics they’re nervous to ask about, with 67% saying it’s easier to learn about them online. Encouragingly, the internet has helped almost half (46%) through a difficult time.

With technology enabling us to connect and learn faster than ever, 48% of young people say being online makes them feel like their voices and actions matter. Maximising on the collective power of the internet, 42% have been inspired to take positive action by sharing support for a campaign, social movement or petition.

84% young believe they have a responsibility to respect other online

However, the myriad of ways in which young people connect online means they must also navigate the complexities of asking for and giving permission before sharing. Young people have a strong sense of right and wrong online, with an overwhelming 84% believing everyone has a responsibility to respect others. However, in practice almost half (48%) admit their peers don’t always think before they post. 36% of young people are sharing screenshots of other peoples’ photos, comments or messages at least weekly.

This exposes young people to a confusing landscape when it comes to online consent, and a lack of consensus on how to navigate this. Half of young people (51%) think their friends should ask for permission before tagging them or sharing a photo or video of them, while 37% think their parents should ask. Furthermore, 27% are likely to read a friend’s messages without their permission.

Young people are also not asking permission before posting, despite 81% knowing when and how to ask. Consequently, in the last year over half of young people (52%) said someone they know shared a photo or video of them without asking.

Impact of breach of consent on young people

This breach of consent can leave young people feeling anxious or not in control (39%), with a lack of clarity clearly having a real impact on their lives.

Even when permission is sought, young people are facing further pressures. Despite feeling confident telling their friends (82%) and parents (85%) not to share something about them online, in practice it can be difficult to say no. In the last year, 34% have said yes to something about them being shared online, even though they didn’t want it to be.

The ‘rules’ are also confused when consent is breached. Whilst the majority of young people would always remove something they’d posted about a friend if asked to, 36% would not. Encouragingly, young people do rally against injustices they see online and 68% would report something that had been shared about them without permission. 63% would report if it happened to a friend.

Will Gardner OBE, Director of the UK Safer Internet Centre, says:

“There can be no doubt that sharing and connecting with others online is an integral part of everyday life for young people. Today’s findings are encouraging, highlighting how young people have a strong sense of what is right online, and are harnessing the internet to make a positive difference for themselves and others.

“However, our research shows that without clear guidance for navigating the complexities of online consent, the gap between young people’s attitudes and behaviours is striking.

Education Secretary Damian Hinds said:

“We must provide children with the skills to use technology and take advantage of the online world effectively and safely. We are making Relationships Education compulsory in all primary schools and Relationships and Sex Education compulsory in all secondary schools, to sit alongside the existing Computing curriculum. Teachers will address online safety and appropriate behaviour in a way that is relevant to pupils’ lives.

Home Secretary Sajid Javid said:

“The Government is committed to keeping children safe online. We are working closely with the technology industry to make the internet a safer and more responsible place.”

“All children will be taught about online friendships as well as to face-to-face relationships. I want children to understand that the same rules of good behaviour and kindness that they are taught in the playground also apply online.”

Childnet Digital Leaders answer key questions on consent online for Safer Internet Day 2019

More to Explore

Get more insight from the UK Safer Internet Centre research and how to take part in Safer Internet Day

Scroll Up