在线连接和共享

支持LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人

For LGBTQ+ children and young people, connecting and sharing online can be a vital way to interact with peers, educate themselves, and find solutions to issues that friends or family may not understand.对于LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人而言,在线连接和共享可能是与同龄人互动,进行自我教育并找到朋友或家人可能不理解的问题的解决方案的重要方式。 However, there are also areas of risk for young people within the LGBTQ+ community when interacting online.但是,LGBTQ +社区中的年轻人在进行在线互动时也存在一些风险。

页面上有什么

你需要知道什么

社交媒体上的生活是当今成长的重要组成部分,对于LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人来说,它通常可以成为生命线。 人际关系对于想教育自己的性生活,或者发现处于同一位置的朋友和人际关系确实很有帮助。 这也可以是一种确认他们并不孤单的方式,并且还有其他人也在思考与他们相同的事物。

超值优惠

LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人在建立在线社区中的关系方面有很多好处,包括:

与LGBTQ +社区联系

与LGBTQ +社区中的其他人建立关系,尤其是在他们的生活中很少有人认定为LGBTQ +的情况下。

探索LGBTQ +身份

教育自己成长LGBTQ +的各个方面。

寻找志同道合的人

寻找一个拥有相似经验的人的社区。

以不同方式分享经验

通过各种方式表达自己,而他们可能无法离线进行。

在线约会和管理关系

探索网上约会和关系 – LGBTQ +年轻人可以在线聚会,并与其他LGBTQ +人分享和讨论经验。 对于LGBTQ +社区中的人们来说,能够与具有类似经验的其他人建立有意义的联系是他们网上交友的主要卖点,在那里他们可以摆脱他人的潜在判断力。

资源

社交媒体指南

参观指南

风险

我们知道在线空间中存在的风险与挑战并存,而LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人也是如此。 这些可以包括:

暴露于不适当的内容和在线仇恨

在线暴露于危险,仇恨或不适当的内容 有关LGBTQ +社区的信息,包括仇恨言论之类的反LGBTQ +消息,甚至是转化疗法或反LGBTQ +团体之类的付费广告。

接触色情

接触色情 是另一个风险。 这可能是在线的色情内容,也可能是两个特定个人之间共享的色情内容。 这可能会影响您孩子的性观念并探索他们的性行为,并且如果他们感到有压力参加类似的活动,可能会危害自己。

与危险人物联系

与潜在危险的人联系,包括使用可能不适合年龄的在线约会应用。

网上性骚扰

成为在线性骚扰的受害者 –网​​上有害的性行为。 每个人都有此风险,但对于LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人来说,他们的性取向和/或性别可能是他们成为目标的原因。

与仅限在线的朋友面对面交流

与只在线互动的人见面,尤其是在网上约会的背景下,可能使他们面临脱机性骚扰或人身攻击的危险-The Brook的研究表明,有更多的同性恋年轻人(9.9%)遇到了一个网上联系人,他们不是他们所说的人与直率的年轻人(4.9%)相比。

修饰和性剥削

成为美容和性剥削的受害者 –所有儿童和年轻人都容易受到包括LGBTQ +社区在内的这些风险的影响。 一些LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人故意使用成人网站,因为他们认为这是结识人们,探索其性欲或感到被接受的一种简便方法。 此外,如果他们无法访问LGBTQ +青年团体或由训练有素的专业人士主持的论坛,则成人约会应用程序可能是他们唯一了解LGBTQ +人群的唯一在线空间。

在线针对跨性别人士的有害仇恨言论

对于跨性别者,在线暴露于危险或有害的仇恨言论的威胁呈指数增长, 1.5万条推文 在三年半的时间内出版。 目睹仇恨言论的威胁带来了恐同性网络欺凌(基于对跨性别者的偏见或消极态度,观点或信仰的欺凌)的附加威胁。 网上的跨性别恐惧症文化可能意味着某些人会胆大妄为地骚扰,欺凌或歧视跨性别者,因此年轻的跨性别者可能特别容易遭受跨性别网络欺凌的风险。 这可能会对心理健康和自我形象产生有害影响。

重要的是要意识到:

  • LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人由于其性取向或性别认同,更容易受到网络欺凌的影响。 十分之三的LGBT年轻人 被粗鲁,不真实,秘密或令人尴尬的评论,消息,视频或图片欺负。
  • 尽管在网上目睹LGBTQ +仇恨言论是 可能性降低八倍 而不是目睹有关性和性别认同的一般性对话,它仍然相对普遍。
  • 根据斯通沃尔–学校报告(2017),有五分之二的LGBT年轻人(占2%)已成为网上同性恋,双性恋和跨性虐待的目标。
  • 然而, 许多LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人在脱机前先上网 并可以与只能在线认识的人建立社区,然后才能离线建立LGBTQ +朋友社区。 从宝贵的资源中删除它们可能会阻止他们脱机显示给同行和朋友。

面临的挑战

所有父母面临的主要挑战是弄清楚您的孩子如何享受社交媒体的好处和在线连接,同时保护他们免受可能导致伤害的风险。 由于您可能会遇到其他挑战,这对于探索性行为的儿童和年轻人尤其重要。 这些可以包括:

社交媒体在维持关系中的重要性

互联网和社交媒体的使用是当今儿童和年轻人生活的基本方面,限制其使用可能会影响他们与学校朋友的关系,远距离友谊以及主要存在于离线状态的其他关系。 在最近因冠状病毒导致的锁定事件之后,这一点尤为重要,因为年轻人可能会被禁止定期与朋友见面。

在线资源和群体对支持幸福感的重要作用

  • 限制访问互联网可以使他们脱离宝贵的资源,从而使他们能够探索并表达自己的身份。
  • 与其他LGBTQ +人一起成为社区的一部分对于年轻人来说可能真的很重要,因此需要他们的支持才能了解如何以安全的方式在网上结交朋友和建立联系。
  • 他们可能会觉得使用它的好处胜过风险,或者意识到风险,但不想失去所获得的收益。

你应该考虑什么?

在就孩子的互联网使用问题以及采取措施保护孩子的健康时,需要考虑以下几点:

  • 知道风险 它可以帮助您识别他们可能在不知不觉中参与的任何危险情况。
  • 进行坦诚的对话 与儿童和年轻人谈论在线生活-例如,询问他们对与应用程序或新技术有关的任何新闻报道的看法,并要求他们告诉您他们最喜欢的应用程序。
  • 注意您的孩子正在使用互联网 以及他们与谁联系。
  • 同样,要了解互联网是现在成长的一部分,因此您应该 尊重他们的使用权 及其隐私权。 确保 共同努力建立抵御力和信任 确保他们在网上做出更安全的选择,并应对潜在的在线风险。
  • 明白 禁止技术和互联网使用是不可行的。 它的积极影响远大于消极影响。
  • 知道法律怎么说 –尽管并非所有有害的在线行为都是违法的,但是应对歧视LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人的每项行为都应提出质疑。 如果您担心在线发生的事件,可以使用孩子的学校转介程序来检查当地的保障机构。 提交给警方的报告是在转介儿童社会照料的同时完成的。 有关法律规定的更多信息,请参见 斯通沃尔的指南。

保护他们的实际步骤

社交媒体 已经成为成长的一部分。 尽管与其他人在线连接和共享有很多明显的好处,尤其是对于少数群体的儿童和年轻人,但是可以采取一些措施来保护他们免受本资源概述的风险的影响。
与他们展开有关社交媒体使用的对话是开始交流他们应该注意的事情,彼此期望的信息的最佳方法,以帮助他们保持在线安全。

你可以做的事情

为成功做好准备

您可以采取许多措施来帮助您的孩子保持安全的在线状态,并养成自己的健康的在线习惯,这将在将来帮助他们。

隐私设置

您可能选择与您的孩子讨论有关 隐私设置 以及其他社交媒体网站上的选项。 公开讨论不同环境下的风险和回报,将有助于您了解他们在社交媒体上的目标,并确保他们知道谁可以看到他们所发布的内容。

设定社交媒体时间

在学期中,尤其是在一周中,重要的是要确保您的孩子没有花每一分钟的闲暇时间 在社交媒体上的时间,而不是做其他事情,他们发现自己充实或完成了学业。

与他们一起计算您认为这些小时应该是什么时间,在冰箱上或家中显眼的地方放一张松散的时间表,并确保家庭中的每个人都坚持下去。 您必须在这里以身作则,因此,如果他们不能出现在社交媒体上,您也不会。

继续与他们签到

就像在社交媒体使用过程中保持与他们的对话一样简单。 但是,请尽量不要询问他们,因为这只会导致他们向您隐藏他们的社交媒体做法。 在对话中,您可以使他们想起您共同制定的规则,并允许他们在他们看到或分享的社交媒体上讨论与他们有关的任何内容。

做你的研究

社交媒体可以成为LGBTQ +儿童的生命线的一个关键原因是,他们觉得自己没有自己的离线社区,感到被周围的人误解了或者无法安全地表达自己。 因此,帮助他们在网上和线下都可以找到它。 查看本地团体或聚会。 鼓励他们通过爱好表达自己。 可以给您的孩子一个多产的渠道,或者更好的是,一个安全的空间来表达自己的意见,是确保他们对自己上线和下线的人感到满意的好方法。

对话有

随意开始讨论

与他们坐下来进行正式讨论是他们会受到惩罚或严重新闻的事情。

向他们询问他们使用社交媒体做什么

他们喜欢它以及与谁保持联系–给他们提供首先公开的机会比简单地告诉他们您的想法要好得多。

询问他们在社交媒体上是否看到任何让他们感到不适的东西

他们可能并不诚实,但是他们的反应将帮助您评估他们是否正在与社交媒体互动或目睹任何影响他们离线的内容。

与他们讨论社交媒体上过度分享的危险

年轻人首先上网是很常见的。 因此,他们可能已经成为共享LGBTQ +经验的在线社区的一部分。 尽管如此,在一个从未有过见面的社区中共享资源仍然很危险,无论他们参与其中已有多长时间。 例如,公开可以帮助人们在现实生活中找到它们的识别信息。

让他们表达自己的感受

在讨论他们的社交媒体使用时,让您的孩子感到被倾听是很重要的,因为这可能是他们一生中最大的一部分。

要记住的事情

保持冷静

他们在讨论这个主题时可能会感到防御或生气,尤其是当他们参加了您现在认为需要限制的活动时。 记住要保持冷静,并以适合自己年龄的方式与他们交谈。

提醒他们

您并没有完全从技术或互联网上切断它们,只是限制或监视活动。

让他们参与其中

请他们为下一步提供帮助。 如果他们对您的活动说实话,那么邀请他们参加创建边界将帮助他们看到这样做是对的,而这并不是作为一种惩罚。

社交媒体是生活的重要组成部分-对于LGBTQ +

儿童和年轻人,社交媒体通常可以是找到社区的生命线,并且通常是他们首先出现的地方。 限制访问社交媒体可能会严重影响他们脱机并与他人公开谈论其性行为的能力。

处理在线问题

您可以执行以下步骤(您需要对其进行调整以适合您对孩子或年轻人的了解):

主要问题是什么?

过度分享

有什么害处?

LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人可能很难理解分类为 在线分享,尤其是考虑到很多儿童和年轻人的生活都是在网上进行的。 但是共享过多的个人信息可能会使您的孩子处于危险之中。

应对策略

  • 在公开,诚实的对话中解释过度分享的潜在后果
  • 如果他们已经共享了与他们有关的信息,请找出它们是什么以及与谁共享
  • 如果该信息未经其知情或同意已在其他网站上发布,请与该网站联系以将其删除

在哪里寻求支持和建议

如果您需要从特定的社交媒体网站上删除某些内容,可以转到 丢掉标签,谁 可以将内容报告给社交媒体网站以加快删除速度。 您也可以使用 报告有害内容在线网站 获得有关您要举报的任何问题的支持。 同样,如果您的孩子或年轻人的同龄人或同学进一步共享了该信息,则与他们的学校联系将有助于确保不再发生这种情况。

网上性虐待

有什么害处?

任何背景下的任何孩子都可能面临在线性虐待的风险。 但是有些比其他人更脆弱。

- 对儿童性虐待的独立调查(IICSA) 发现最常见的与性有关的关注是在线虐待和对等虐待(这种虐待是在儿童之间发生任何形式的身体,性,情感或经济虐待或强迫性控制时发生的。 网络欺凌,性暴力,骚扰和色情.

从研究 斯通沃尔,《 2017年学校报告》 调查发现,有6%的LGBTQ年轻人未经他们的同意而被拍摄或拍照,还有3%的人表示未经他们同意就分享了有关他们的性暗示照片或信息。

应对策略

  • 立即 阻止并删除犯罪者.
  • 在某些情况下,您可能需要保存滥用的证据-因为您可能需要向当局和/或警察证明。
  • 向孩子保证这不是他们的错 –他们可能和您一样感到恐惧和担忧。 让他们知道您的主要担心是他们的安全,并且您想帮助他们。 儿童和年轻人经常担心被虐待的“耻辱”。 避免因为任何原因而将您的孩子视为与众不同。
  • 进行坦诚对话 与他们讨论发生的事情–这对你们俩来说都是艰难的对话,因此请记住,受虐待的儿童和年轻人会很难谈论它
  • 避免可能被认为是干扰性或压力性的问题 –相反,应专注于了解他们现在的感受以及您可能会喜欢的东西。
  • 滥用行为肯定已经停止了吗? –即使在儿童或年轻人告知某人后,虐待仍会继续发生)。

在哪里寻求支持和建议

  • 举报-如果您怀疑孩子是网络性虐待的受害者,请立即向 CEOP or 国际举联.
  • 如果您的孩子或年轻人迫在眉睫,请致电999,与警察联系,当地警察为101。您还可以通过访问我们的报告问题页面来报告问题。

色情短信

有什么害处?

很难准确地了解有多少儿童分享性图片,但是在儿童和年轻人之间,尤其是在LGBTQ +社区中的儿童和年轻人之间共享并不是孤立的行为。 在斯通沃尔的研究中,参加调查的所有同性恋年轻人中,有59%创造了自己的性爱照片或视频。

相比之下,有40%的年轻人会做出回应(Stonewall,2014年)。 但是他们通常不理解他们通过发送或拥有未成年人的露骨色情图片而违反法律。 研究表明,超过三分之一(34%)的年轻人向某人发送了自己的``性或裸体''图像,而超过一半(52%)的年轻人已收到此类图像(Digital Romance,CEOP&Brook,2017) 。

应对策略

  • 识别共享的内容类型,图片的显式程度以及涉及的人员。 它是发给或来自比他们大得多的人吗?
  • 了解他们为什么从事这种行为 通过与他们进行公开坦诚的讨论
  • 让他们意识到所涉及的风险,包括如果他们将自己的图像发送给其他人,则他们无法控制该图像的将来位置,即使通过Snapchat等应用程序,图像在几秒钟后也会消失
  • 如果犯罪者是年龄较大的人,或者您认为您的孩子或年轻人被强迫从事这种行为, 阻止并删除肇事者,并举报

在哪里寻求支持和建议

  • 报告吧! 如果您怀疑孩子是网络性虐待的受害者,请立即向 CEOP or 国际举联
  • 为您的孩子提供支持。 让他们知道可以与之交谈的机密帮助热线,例如 儿童热线 或者 NSPCC

见证仇恨言论

他们可能不知道 仇恨言论 他们可能会在社交媒体上看到。 即使通过反欺凌慈善组织进行研究 抛弃标签 发现在社交媒体上仇视仇恨言论的可能性比对同性恋恐惧症的一般讨论要低八倍,他们可能仍然会暴露于仇恨言论,因此您应该准备与他们进行讨论。

应对策略

  • 与您的孩子进行公开讨论 或年轻人 关于他们看到或阅读的内容以及它们如何使他们感到。
  • 确定痛点 –他们看到诽谤了吗? 怎么说使他们有这种感觉? 是直接给他们看的还是他们看到了?
  • 该网站的第一个改版版本已上线,您可以 报告有害内容 到社交媒体网站进行删除。

在哪里寻求支持和建议

网络欺凌

网络欺凌 也可以采取剥削性关系的形式,通常由您的孩子或年轻人非常了解的人来做。 它依赖于一个知道您的孩子的触发器的诱因的人,诱使他们做某事或为他们的娱乐而生气或不高兴。

但是,LGBTQ +年轻人经常因为性取向或性别认同而成为目标人群。 每2人中就有5人是网上同性恋,双性恋和跨性虐待的目标。 特别是,近五分之三的跨性别年轻人在线上受到了这种虐待。 [资源: 斯通沃尔学校报告,2017年]

应对策略

  • 封锁并举报肇事者
  • 如果犯罪者来自您孩子所在的学校,请向相关人员报告
  • 提供支持并与您的孩子交谈–解释这不是他们的错
  • 讨论他们安全浏览在线世界的方式

在哪里寻求支持和建议

推荐资源

这里有一些更多的资源来支持儿童和年轻人。 造访 包容性数字安全资源中心 获取更多专家资源。

通过Stonewall寻找支持小组

.

美人鱼儿童和年轻人求助热线和跨性别者资源– 0808 801 0400

LGBT青年苏格兰支持网站

.

寻求支持

.

儿童专线

.

使互联网更安全,更具包容性

我们与SWGfL一起创建了该中心,以提供在线安全建议和指南,以支持与遭受漏洞的儿童和年轻人一起工作的父母和专业人员。

让我们知道您对中心的看法。 做一个简短的调查

这有用吗?
告诉我们为什么
向上滚动

Connecting and sharing online

Advice for parents and carers

For LGBTQ+ children and young people, connecting and sharing online can be a vital way to interact with peers, educate themselves and find solutions to issues that friends or family may not understand. However, there are also areas of risk for young people within the LGBTQ+ community when interacting online.

What’s on the page

What you need to know

Life on social media is an important part of growing up today, and for LGBTQ+ children and young people, it can often be a lifeline. Connections are really helpful for those who want to educate themselves on their sexuality, or discover friends and connections who are in the same position. It can also be a way to affirm they are not alone and there are other people thinking about the same things they are.

The Benefits

There are many benefits for LGBTQ+ children and young people in forging relationships within online communities including:

  • Building relationships with others in the LGBTQ+ community, especially if there are few others in their lives who identify as such
  • Educating themselves about aspects of growing up LGBTQ+
  • Finding a tribe of people who relate to their struggles, and to their triumphs
  • Expressing themselves through all kinds of ways that they may not get to do offline
  • Exploring online dating and relationships – LGBTQ+ can, talk, meet and share experiences with other LGBTQ+ people.
Resources light-bulb

Where do young people go to socialise

View site

The Risks

We know that there are risks and challenges that go hand in hand with the benefits of existing in online spaces, and this is no different for LGBTQ+ children and young people. These can include:

  • Being exposed to dangerous, hateful or inappropriate content online about the LGBTQ+ community including anti-LGBTQ+ messaging and pornography
  • Connecting with potentially dangerous individuals, including using online dating apps that may not be age appropriate
  • Taking part in conduct that could be potentially damaging to them or to others
  • Being a victim of online sexual harassment – unawanted sexual behaviour online. Everyone is at risk of this, but for LGBTQ+ children and young people, their sexual orientation and/or gender could be the reason they are targeted
  • Being a victim of grooming and sexual exploitation – all children and young people are vulnerable to these risks including the LGBTQ+ community. Some LGBTQ+ children and young people deliberately use adult sites because they think it’s an easier way to meet people, explore their sexuality, or feel accepted
xxx

The threat of being exposed to dangerous or harmful hate speech online increases exponentially for transgender people, with 1.5 million transphobic tweets published over the course of a three and a half year period. [Source Exposed: The Scale of Transphobia Online, Ditch the Label, 2019). With the threat of witnessing hate speech comes the added threat of transphobic cyberbullying (bullying based on prejudice or negative attitudes, views or beliefs about trans people)

It is important to be aware that:

  • LGBTQ+ children and young people are more likely to be on the receiving end of cyberbullying due to their sexuality or gender identity. 3 in 10 LGBT young people have been bullied with comments, messages, videos or pictures that were mean, untrue, secret or embarrassing [Source]
  • Although witnessing LGBTQ+ hate speech online was found to be eight times less likely than witnessing general conversations about sexual and gender identity, it is still relatively common
  • However, many LGBTQ+ children and young people come out online before coming out offline, and often to communities of strangers. Cutting them off from a valuable resource could discourage them from coming out to peers and friends offline.
Life online for children with SEND report light-bulb

This report summarises the findings of the workshops and extensive consultation that we carried out with young people, parents, carers, and teachers to help us to create the Connecting Safely Online hub.

View report

The Challenges

The primary challenge for all parents is to work out how to allow your child to enjoy the benefits of social media and connecting online, whilst protecting them from the risks that may lead to harm. This is especially important for children and young people exploring their sexuality because of the additional challenges that you may come across. These can include:

The importance of social media in maintaining relationships

  • Internet and social media use is a fundamental aspect of the lives of children and young people today, and limiting this could impact their relationships with school friends, long distance friendships and other relationships that exist primarily offline

Vital roles of online resources and groups to support wellbeing

  • Limiting access to the internet could cut them off from precious resources that would allow them to explore and express who they are
  • Feeling a part of a community online with other LGBTQ+ may be something they are not willing to give up or change, even if that community is harmful for them
  • They may feel that the benefits of using it outweigh the risks, or be aware of the risks but do not want to lose what they have gained

What things should you consider?

There are a few things to consider when approaching your child about their internet use, and when taking steps to protect their wellbeing:

  • Know the risks and have a think about how to word questions – it could help you to identify any risky situations they may be taking part in unknowingly
  • Be aware of what your child is using the internet for and who they are connecting with
  • Equally, understand that the internet is a part of growing up now, and you should respect their right to use it and their right to privacy. Make sure to work together to build their resilience and trust to ensure they make safer choices online and can cope with potential online risks
  • Understand that banning technology and internet use is not feasible. It has a far greater positive impact than a negative one

Practical steps to protect them

Social media has become a part of growing up. Although there are many clear benefits to connecting and sharing with others online, especially for minority groups of children and young people, there are some things that can be done to protect them from the risks outlined in this resource.

Opening a conversation with them about social media use is the best way to start communicating about what they should be aware of, what you expect from each other to help them stay safe online.

Things you can do

Setting up for success

There are lots of things you can do to help your child stay safe online, and build their own healthy online habits that will help them in the future.

Privacy settings

You might choose to have a discussion with your child about the privacy settings and options on different social media sites. Having an open conversation about the risks and rewards of different settings will help you understand their goals on social media, as well as making sure they are aware of who can see what they are putting out there.

Set hours for social media time

During term time, and especially during the week, it’s important to make sure that your child is not spending every minute of their spare time on social media, and instead of doing other things they find enriching, or completing their school work.

Work out with them what you think these hours should be, put up a loose timetable on the fridge or somewhere prominent in the home, and make sure everyone in the family sticks to it. You have to lead by example here, so if they can’t be on social media – neither can you.

Keep checking in with them

It can be as easy as keeping the conversation going with them around social media use. Try not to interrogate them though, as this will only lead to them hiding their social media practices from you. Have conversations where you remind them of the rules you have set out together, and allow them to discuss anything on social media they have seen or shared that is concerning them.

Do your research

A key reason why social media can be a lifeline for LGBTQ+ children is that they feel they do not have a community of their own offline, that they feel misunderstood by those around them, or that they cannot express themselves safely. So, help them find this both on and offline.  Look at local groups or meet-ups. Encourage them to express themselves through hobbies. Whatever will give your child a productive outlet, or, better yet, a safe space to express themselves, is a great way to ensure they are comfortable with who they are both on and offline.

Conversations to have

Start the discussion in a casual way

sitting down with them for a formal discussion is something they will associate with a punishment or serious news

Ask them about what they use social media for

what they like about it and who they connect with – giving them a chance to be open first is much better than simply telling them what you think

Ask them if they see anything on social media that makes them uncomfortable

They might not be honest, but their reaction will help you to gauge if they are interacting with or witnessing anything on social media that is affecting them offline as well

Talk to them about the dangers of oversharing on social media

It’s very common for young people to come out online first. As such, they may have been a part of online communities that share LGBTQ+ experiences before you knew. Nevertheless, oversharing in a community of people they’ve never met before can still be dangerous, regardless of how long they have been a part of it

Allow them to voice their feelings

It’s important that your child feels listened to when discussing their social media use, as it may be one of the largest parts of their lives

Things to remember

Stay calm

There is a chance they may get defensive or angry when discussing this subject, particularly if they have been taking part in an activity that you now feel the need to limit. Remember to stay calm and talk to them in an age-appropriate way.

Remind them

You are not completely cutting them off from technology or the internet, just limiting or monitoring activity.

Request to meet

Ensure they know never to meet up with anyone they have only met online, and again come to you or another trusted adult to tell them if they’re asked to do so.

Let them be a part of it

Ask them to help with the next steps. If they are being honest with you about their activity, then inviting them to take part in creating the boundaries will help them see it’s for good, and this isn’t happening as a punishment.

Social media is a big part of life – for LGBTQ+

children and young people, social media can often be a lifeline to find a community, and is often the place they come out first. Restricting access to social media could severely impact their ability to come out offline, and talk openly with others about their sexuality.

Dealing with Issues

Here are some steps you can do (you will want to adapt it to fit with your knowledge of your child or young person):

What are the main issues?

Oversharing

It can be difficult for LGBTQ+ children and young people to understand what classifies as oversharing online, especially given that so much of children and young people’s lives are played out in an online space. But sharing too much personal information can put your child in danger.

Coping strategies

  • Explain the potential consequences of oversharing in an open and honest conversation
  • If they have already shared information that concerns them, find out what it was and with whom they shared it
  • If the information has been published on other websites without their knowledge or consent, contact the site to have it taken down

Where to go for support and advice

  • If you need something taken down from a particular social media site, you can go to Ditch the Label, who can report the content to social media sites for expedited removal.  You can also use the Report Harmful Content online website to get support on any issue you’d like to report. Also, if the information was further shared by a peer or classmate of your child or young person, contacting their school will help to ensure this does not happen again.

Online Sexual Abuse

Coping strategies

  • Immediately block and delete the perpetrator
  • Reassure your child it’s not their fault – they are probably feeling just as scared and worried as you. Let them know that your main concern is that they are safe and that you want to help them. Children and young people often worry about the ‘stigma’ of having been abused. Avoid treating your child as if they are different in any way because of it.
  • Have a calm and open conversation with them about what happened – this will be a difficult conversation for both of you so bear in mind that children and young people who have been abused will find it very difficult to talk about it
  • Avoid questions that might be felt to be intrusive or pressurising – instead focus on understanding how they are feeling now and what they might like from you.
  • Has the abuse definitely stopped? – often abuse continues even after a child or young person has told someone about it).
  • Has the abuse definitely stopped? – often abuse continues even after a CYP has told someone about it)

Where to go for support and advice

  • Report it! If you suspect a child is a victim of online sexual abuse, report it immediately to CEOP or IWF.If your child or young person is in immediate danger contact the police on 999, for the local police, 101. You can also report a problem by visiting our report issue page.

Coping strategies

  • Identify what kind of content was shared, how explicit the image was and who was involved. Was it sent to or from someone who is considerably older than them?
  • Understand why they engaged in this behaviour by having an open and honest discussion with them about it
  • Make them aware of the risks involved, including that if they send images of themselves to others, they have no control over where that image goes in the future, even through apps such as Snapchat, where images disappear after a few seconds
  • If the perpetrator was someone older, or you feel your child or young person was coerced into this behaviour, block and delete the perpetrator, and report it

Where to go for support and advice

  • Report it! If you suspect a child is a victim of online sexual abuse, report it immediately to CEOP or IWF
  • Offer your child support. Let them know of confidential helplines they can talk to such as Childline or the NSPCC

Witnessing hate speech

They may not be aware of the amount of hate speech they might see on social media. Even though research by anti-bullying charity Ditch the Label found that homophobic hate speech was eight times less likely on social media than general discussions about homophobia, they might still be exposed to this, and you should be prepared to discuss this with them.

Coping strategies

  • Have an open discussion with your child or young person about what they saw or read and how it made them feel
  • Identify the pain points – did they see a slur? What about what was said made them feel this way? Was it directed to them or did they just see it
  • You can report harmful content to social media sites for removal

Where to go for support and advice

Cyberbullying

Cyberbullying can also take the form of an exploitative relationship which is usually done by someone your child or young person knows very well. It relies on a person knowing to target your child’s triggers to bait them into doing something or getting angry or upset for their entertainment.

However, LGBTQ+ young people often find themselves targeted because of their sexual orientation or gender identity. 2 in 5 have been the target of homophobic, biphobic and transphobic abuse online. In particular, nearly 3 in 5 trans young people have received this abuse online. [Source:Stonewall School Report, 2017].

Coping strategies

  • Block and report the perpetrator
  • If the perpetrator is from your child’s school, then report this to the appropriate persons
  • Offer support and talk to your child – explain it’s not their fault this is happening
  • Discuss ways they can navigate the online world safely

Where to go for support and advice

Recommended resources

Supporting resources to share with children and young people

Guides & Resource centre

 

.

Finding support group through Stonewall

.

Mermaids Kids and young people helpline and resources for trans people – 0808 801 0400

LGBT Youth Scotland support site

.

Seeking support

.

Childline helplines

.

Making the internet safer and more inclusive

Together with SWGfL we've created this hub to provide online safety advice and gudience to support parents & professionals working with children and young people experiencing vulnerabilities

Scroll Up