游戏时保持安全

支持LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人

在线游戏在儿童和年轻人中非常受欢迎。 无论是通过电话和移动设备,PC还是游戏机,大多数儿童和年轻人都会有在线游戏的经验。 但是,有些游戏领域可能会使LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人面临被欺负或遭受同性恋,两性或跨语言的风险。

页面上有什么

你需要知道什么

重要的是要注意,尽管所有性别的人都参与在线游戏,但它过去一直是面向男性的。 结果,妇女和女孩发现她们经常受到不公正的攻击,经常面对性别虐待和性别歧视/女权主义言论和行为,这些行为和行为可能是性行为。

不论是否在LGBTQ +社区中,年轻的女性游戏玩家在网络游戏中的口头虐待风险最高。 [来源]

超值优惠

尽管您可能不了解您的孩子愿意花很多时间在网上玩游戏,但有很多建议表明,这是一项业余爱好,有很多好处。 在线游戏对所有年轻人都有好处,包括LGBTQ +和非LGBTQ +的年轻人都有,但LGBTQ +的年轻人可能会有特别的好处,其中包括:

发展关键技能

找到孩子喜欢的爱好可能会极大地解放他们,特别是如果他们是LGBTQ +。 它给了他们 有机会发展战略和决策等技能,表达自己并与他人交谈的信心。

与朋友保持现有关系

它可以帮助他们与和他们一样玩游戏的朋友和同伴发展现有的关系。 这可能意味着他们会更好地了解人们的生活, 更加安全地出来或拥抱他们在朋友中的身份。

查找朋友的在线社区

一些年轻人可能会与通过游戏认识的人建立在线友谊。 尽管这可能使您担心,特别是因为这将使他们与陌生人交谈,但有证据表明,可以通过在线游戏建立持久的友谊。 [资料来源:Kowert等人,在线视频游戏参与与情绪敏感个体之间与游戏相关的友谊之间的关系,《网络心理学,行为与社交网络》(2014年1月17日; 7(447):453–XNUMX)]

风险

在线游戏存在一些风险,主要围绕游戏中发生的仇恨言论和欺凌行为。

网络欺凌和拖钓

  • 欺凌是在线游戏中令人担忧的原因。 国际反欺凌慈善组织 抛弃标签 发现57%的年轻人在网络游戏中遭到欺负,这可能会对年轻人的心理健康产生重大影响。
  • 石墙研究 还发现40%的LGBT年轻人在网上特别遭受同性恋,两性或跨性虐待。
  • 见证仇恨言论也是一种风险,尤其是如果LGBTQ +儿童或年轻人在在线游戏领域公开露面时。 再次,有57%的年轻人在在线游戏中受到过这种攻击。
  • 拖钓是在线游戏的一个困难方面,并且有64%的年轻人受到了极大的诱惑

有害的性接触

  • 40%的年轻人还通过网络游戏获得了不必要的性接触。

被淘汰

  • 在LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人中,在在线游戏环境中外出游荡是其他人没有的风险。

未经同意即共享个人信息

  • 在线儿童中共享个人信息是儿童和年轻人的另一种普遍风险,无论他们自己在不了解风险的情况下共享信息,还是他人未经他们的同意共享信息。

重要的是要意识到:

  • 并非所有LGBTQ +年轻人都希望成为在线游戏中的LGBTQ +。
  • 此外,LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人很可能会与来自学校或业余爱好的同龄人以及他们通过网络游戏认识的一些人在网上玩游戏,因此可能已经知道其性别或性身份的人也会玩。 这并不一定会增加受到伤害的风险,但可能意味着将其他情况告知其他玩家是无法控制的。
  • 与任何形式或平台的在线陌生人交流总是会带来一定的风险。 但是,我网络游戏中的互动 可以保持简短,所有儿童和年轻人都可以随时选择退出游戏或比赛,无论他们玩的是哪种游戏。

面临的挑战

尽管可能感觉禁止在线游戏对孩子的身心健康更为有益,但这是不可行的,并且在平衡他们的健康与对这个特殊爱好的爱之间存在着许多挑战。

游戏是新的学校游乐场

  • 他们可能会使用在线游戏来 与校外的朋友和同伴保持联系。
  • 定期上网玩游戏是社交活动, 而且他们那里可能有一个他们不愿放弃的朋友社区,尤其是当他们仅通过网络与这些人联系时。

难以报告事件

  • 有不足之处 游戏中的网络欺凌报告,通常很难在游戏中找到进行报告的区域。

网络欺凌被视为开玩笑

  • 儿童和年轻人很难识别在线游戏中的网络欺凌行为,这是 通常以“戏ban”的名义假装.

如果做出报告,会担心失去社区

  • 具体来说,对于LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人来说,在网络游戏中目睹仇恨言论可能是他们不愿与您交流的原因,因为他们担心了解他们的爱好和社区。 同样,对于尚未出国的LGBTQ年轻人,向某人讲述反LGBT仇恨言论可能会令人生畏,因为年轻人可能会担心这样做会成为LGBTQ。

个人信息管理

  • 最后,LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人可能会感到,只要他们不在网上“闲逛”,这对他们来说就不会成为问题,因为在该环境中没有人会知道他们的性取向。 但是,他们可能不了解他们并不总是控制在线个人信息流,而其他“外出”他们仍然有风险。

保护他们的实际步骤

预防风险的工具和建议

您可以采取多种措施来保护您的孩子免受游戏中发生的在线骚扰,即使您无法与他们进行和解。 与他们进行关于他们的游戏习惯,与谁在线玩游戏以及为什么如此享受游戏的乐趣的公开对话是迄今为止了解他们以及可能发生的骚扰性质的最佳方式。

你可以做的事情

与他们一起玩

了解孩子为什么愿意冒险在游戏中受到骚扰或欺负的最好方法就是与他们一起玩。 了解他们的享受,例如游戏的策略,竞争或社交元素。 与他们建立联系的一种好方法是超越他们所钟爱的事物,这还将通过了解游戏中事物的交流方式以及在游戏中可能发生的不当语言或互动的数量,帮助您了解他们所面临的风险。平均会话。

了解如何举报滥用行为

与您的孩子讨论他们最喜欢的游戏是什么,并做一些您自己的研究。 了解如何 报告他们最喜欢的游戏中的滥用行为 以及制作这些游戏的公司的流程如何。 您可能永远不需要使用它,但是了解如何执行此操作将使您安心,因为您知道可以在需要的时候进行进一步的操作。 报告因游戏,平台和发行商而异,因此最好找出每个孩子最喜欢的游戏的内容。

与您的孩子谈论过度分享

在线共享是所有儿童和年轻人都需要注意的事情。 与您的孩子讨论如何在网络游戏中公开分享他们的性行为,以及这可能带来的潜在风险与回报。 其目的不是要让他们为自己的性行为感到羞耻,而是要保护他们免于目睹有害的虐待或仇恨言论。 重要的是在与他们讨论时要注意,即使他们确实决定保持自己的性取向或性别认同私密,这些类型的侮辱仍然可能在这个空间内随意散布。

设定游戏时间

与使用社交媒体一样,请与他们讨论他们花在游戏上的时间,并确保他们可以在健康的睡眠方式与保持所有其他承诺之间取得平衡。 年龄较大的玩家更有可能在深夜和深夜上网,而自己年龄的玩家将在更早和放学后上网。 尝试设置一个时间表,以保护他们免受年龄较大的游戏玩家的侵害,后者可能更容易受到辱骂或在聊天功能中使用不恰当的语言。

对话有

与他们讨论他们从游戏体验中获得什么

他们喜欢什么? 如果可以的话,他们会改变什么? 他们在玩游戏时与谁交流最多?

与他们一起确定他们在那里提供什么样的信息

他们玩游戏时会使用真实姓名吗? 实际年龄? 性别认同或性取向? 提醒他们,他们是否愿意在网上与他人共享内容取决于他们。 另外,请与他们讨论不与陌生人共享个人信息或识别信息的重要性。

询问他们是否曾经目睹过网络游戏中的欺凌行为

直接询问他们是被欺负还是进行欺凌不太可能得出真实的答案,因为他们可能会担心无法使用游戏。 相反,询问他们是否曾经目击过它,通常可以帮助您评估比赛在他们的比赛地点是否正在发生。

处理在线问题

作为LGBTQ +儿童和年轻人的父母或照顾者,您可能会对如何处理游戏中的虐待和欺凌行为感到担忧。 为了帮助您处理这些潜在问题,我们就您可以做的事情和可以去的地方提供了指导,以寻求支持和进一步的建议。

要记住的事情

重要的是要记住,您的孩子可能甚至没有遭受过这些伤害,并且可能从未在游戏中目睹过欺凌,仇恨言论或任何其他伤害。 因此,在这种情况下可能不需要保护它们。 但是,重要的是要做好准备,随时可能出现这些问题,制定支持这些问题的行动计划可以使您有信心,可以为他们提供所需的支持。

此外,年轻人可能不会立即告诉看护者有关欺凌的信息,因为担心他们必须走出来(或失去玩游戏的机会),因此,请留意任何可能表明年轻人正在经历的行为变化,这一点很重要。欺负。

主要问题是什么?

游戏中的欺凌

对您的孩子或年轻人来说,欺负游戏可能会很困难,因为游戏常常会导致游戏结束,解压缩或与朋友和同龄人交往。 如果经常发生欺凌行为,这可能会使他们远离自己喜欢的事物,并影响他们的心理健康。

应对策略

  • 进行公开坦诚的讨论 与您的孩子一起了解发生欺凌的种类,发生的频率以及发生在哪个游戏或平台上
  • 教育自己如何举报欺凌行为 在不同的游戏中–每个游戏和平台之间的差异很大
  • 确保他们知道自己并不孤单 在这里,你在那里支持他们
  • 建议他们休息一下 for a little while if it is having a continued impact on their mental health.如果对他们的心理健康有持续的影响It will help them to realise that this is not their entire life.这将帮助他们认识到这不是他们的一生。

在哪里寻求支持和建议

心理健康支持

If your child is struggling with their mental wellbeing because of bullying, consider taking them to a GP for some support.如果您的孩子因为欺凌而在精神健康方面挣扎,请考虑带他们去看全科医生。 They will be able to direct you to a therapist or other mental health services.他们将能够指导您前往治疗师或其他心理健康服务机构。

见证仇恨言论

仇恨言论 is often thrown around in online gaming platforms and often can come even if your child or young person is not out online, instead used as a generic insult for many gamers.通常会被扔在在线游戏平台上,即使您的孩子或年轻人不在网上也经常会出现,而是被用作许多游戏玩家的普遍侮辱。 Witnessing a serious incident of hate speech, whether it was directed to your child or young person or not, can be very damaging for their mental wellbeing and their confidence in who they are.无论是针对孩子还是针对年轻人,目睹严重的仇恨言论事件,都会严重损害他们的心理健康和对自己的身份的信心。

应对策略

  • 谈论他们所看到或被告知的内容 并找出痛点–为什么让他们不高兴? 是直接给他们的吗?
  • 识别仇恨言论的来源或来源,并通过游戏进行报告。
  • 如果它是一系列犯罪的一部分, 根据游戏程序升级投诉。
  • 确保他们知道仇恨言论永远不会消失, and it is not because of who they are that this has happened.发生这种情况并不是因为他们是谁。 It is always more of a reflection on the perpetrator than on the victim.它总是更多地是对肇事者的反映,而不是对受害者的反映。
  • 和欺凌一样 考虑建议他们暂时退出游戏。

在哪里寻求支持和建议

仇恨言论和巨魔

Trolling is often seen as another form of bullying but can be an ongoing pattern of behaviour that can be quite damaging to children and young people's mental wellbeing.拖钓经常被视为欺凌的另一种形式,但它可能是一种持续的行为方式,可能会严重损害儿童和年轻人的心理健康。 For example, in a multi-player game, it could be where a player purposely says something controversial in order to get a rise out of other users or distract others to win the game.例如,在多人游戏中,玩家可能故意说出一些有争议的话题,以便从其他用户中崛起或分散其他人的注意力来赢得游戏。 It can make children and young people's gaming environment more stressful and can be a slope towards experiencing more bullying behaviours.它会使儿童和年轻人的游戏环境更具压力,并且可能会成为遭受更多欺凌行为的斜坡。

应对策略

  • 拖钓在哪里发生? How frequently does it happen?它多久发生一次? What form does the trolling take?拖钓采取什么形式? Is it stalking in a game, is it verbal insults?它在游戏中缠扰,是言语侮辱吗?
  • 看看您的孩子还是年轻人 从游戏中的社交功能中休息一下,因此比赛期间巨魔无法与他们联系。
  • 让他们知道你在那里 如果拖钓升级,他们可以再次与您讨论。

在哪里寻求支持和建议

  • 报告在线欺凌行为 或个人社交媒体网站。 所有社交媒体网站都具有报告功能,但是它们可能无法足够快地删除内容,因此通过具有受信任的举报者身份的其他组织进行报告将加快该过程。
  • 报告有害内容–帮助所有人在线报告有害内容
  • 互联网事务– 解决网上仇恨和巨魔
  • 年轻的头脑  – 0808 802 5544(上午9.30 –下午4点开放)
  • 报告有害内容 –帮助所有人在线举报有害内容
  • 儿童热线 – 0800 1111(24小时开放)
  • 撒玛利亚 – 08457 90 90 90(24小时开放)

为成功进行安全游戏而设置

与他们一起玩

The best way for you to understand why your child is willing to risk being harassed or bullied in a game is simply to play it with them.了解孩子为什么愿意冒险在游戏中受到骚扰或欺负的最好方法就是与他们一起玩。 Understand what they enjoy about it, like the strategy, competition, or social elements of the game.了解他们喜欢它的东西,例如游戏的策略,竞争或社交元素。 A great way to bond with them is over something they love, it will also help you to see just how at risk they are by understanding the way things are communicated within the game and the amount of inappropriate language or interaction actually might take place in an average session.与他们建立联系的一种好方法是超越他们所钟爱的事物,它还可以帮助您了解他们在游戏中的交流方式以及在游戏中可能发生的不当语言或互动的数量,从而了解他们所面临的风险。平均会话。

了解如何举报滥用行为

Have a conversation with your child on what their favourite games are and do some of your own research.与您的孩子讨论他们最喜欢的游戏是什么,并做一些您自己的研究。 Find out how to report abuse in their favourite games and what the processes are with the companies that produce these games.了解如何报告他们最喜欢的游戏中的滥用情况以及与生产这些游戏的公司的流程有关。 You may never need to use it but understanding how to do this will give you peace of mind knowing that you can take things further as and when you need to.您可能永远不需要使用它,但是了解如何执行此操作将使您安心,因为您知道可以在需要的时候进行进一步的操作。 The reporting varies across games, platforms, and publishers, so it's best to find out what it is for each of your child's favourite games.报告因游戏,平台和发行商而异,因此最好找出每个孩子最喜欢的游戏的内容。

与您的孩子谈论过度分享

Oversharing online is something that all children and young people need to be aware of.在线共享是所有儿童和年轻人都需要注意的事情。 Have a conversation with the young person and support them to understand that it's their choice whether they want to come out as LGBTQ+ to the people they game with online.与年轻人交谈并支持他们了解,是否要以LGBTQ +身份出现在他们与在线游戏的人中,这是他们的选择。 Nobody should have to come out if they are not ready to do so.如果他们还没有准备好这样做,那么没有人应该走出来。 Equally, if a person does want to come out, they have a right to be treated with respect.同样,如果一个人确实想出来,他们有权受到尊重。

Make sure the young person knows that if they are bullied, harassed, trolled, or otherwise discriminated against online on the basis of being LGBTQ+, this is unacceptable.确保年轻人知道,如果基于LGBTQ +在网上欺凌,骚扰,拖曳或以其他方式歧视他们,这是不可接受的。 Let them know you'll be there to support them if this happens.让他们知道,如果发生这种情况,您将在那里支持他们。 Support them to identify the steps they can take if this happens to them (eg reporting, blocking) and let them know they can tell you what's happened and you'll be there to help them.'.支持他们确定发生这种情况时可以采取的步骤(例如报告,阻止),并让他们知道他们可以告诉您发生了什么,您将在那里为他们提供帮助。 The aim of this is not to make them ashamed of their sexuality, but rather to protect them against witnessing harmful abuse or hate speech.其目的不是要让他们为自己的性行为感到羞耻,而是要保护他们免于目睹有害的虐待或仇恨言论。 It is important to note when discussing this with them that even if they do decide to keep their sexuality or gender identity private, these types of insults might still be thrown around casually within this space.重要的是,在与他们讨论时要注意,即使他们确实决定保持自己的性取向或性别认同私密,这些类型的侮辱仍可能在这个空间内随意散布。

设定游戏时间

与使用社交媒体一样,请与他们讨论他们花在游戏上的时间,并确保他们可以在健康的睡眠方式与保持所有其他承诺之间取得平衡。 年龄较大的玩家更有可能在深夜和深夜上网,而自己年龄的玩家将在更早和放学后上网。 尝试设置一个时间表,以保护他们免受年龄较大的游戏玩家的侵害,后者可能更容易受到辱骂或在聊天功能中使用不恰当的语言。

推荐资源

这里有一些更多的资源来支持儿童和年轻人。 造访 包容性数字安全资源中心 获取更多专家资源。

通过Stonewall寻找支持小组

美人鱼儿童和年轻人求助热线和跨性别者资源– 0808 801 0400

LGBT青年苏格兰支持网站

青少年在哪里寻求支持和指导的建议。

与Childlines辅导员联系的方式。

使互联网更安全,更具包容性

我们与SWGfL一起创建了该中心,以提供在线安全建议和指南,以支持与遭受漏洞的儿童和年轻人一起工作的父母和专业人员。

让我们知道您对中心的看法。 做一个简短的调查

这有用吗?
告诉我们为什么
向上滚动

Staying safe while gaming

Supporting LGBTQ+ children and young people

Online gaming is incredibly popular among children and young people. Whether it is through phones and mobile devices, PCs, or games consoles, most children and young people will have experience in gaming online. However, there are some areas of gaming that could put LGBTQ+ children and young people at risk of being bullied or subjected to homophobic, biphobic, or transphobic language.

What’s on the page

What you need to know

It is important to note that although people of all genders engage with online gaming, it is and has historically been strongly male-oriented. As a result, women and girls have found that they are often targeted unfairly, and regularly face gendered abuse and sexist/misogynistic remarks and behaviours, that can be sexual in nature.

Young female gamers, whether in the LGBTQ+ community or not, are statistically at the highest risk of verbal abuse in online games. [Source]

The Benefits

Although you might not understand your child’s willingness to spend a lot of time gaming online, there is a lot to suggest that there are multiple benefits to this as a hobby. Online gaming benefits all young people, both those who are LGBTQ+ and those who are not – but there may be particular benefits for LGBTQ+ young people which include:

Develop key skills

Finding a hobby your child enjoys can be incredibly liberating for them, but especially if they are LGBTQ+. It gives them the opportunity to develop skills such as strategy and decision making, express themselves, and converse with others with a degree of confidence.

Maintain existing relationships with friends

It can help them to develop existing relationships with friends and peers who enjoy the same games as them. This could mean they get to know the people in their lives better and feel safer to come out or embrace who they are amongst friends.

Find online community of friends

Some young people may develop online friendships with people they meet through gaming. Although that might be a concern to you, especially as it would involve them conversing with strangers, there is evidence to suggest that long-lasting friendships can be made through online gaming. [Source: Kowert et al, The Relationship Between Online Video Game Involvement and Gaming-Related Friendships Among Emotionally Sensitive Individuals, Journal of Cyberpsychology, Behavior and Social Networking (2014 Jul 1; 17(7): 447–453)]

The Risks

There are some risks that come with online gaming, predominantly revolving around hate speech and bullying that takes place in-game.

Cyberbullying and Trolling

  • Bullying is a cause for concern within online gaming. International anti-bullying charity Ditch the Label found that 57% of young people had been bullied in an online game, and this can have a considerable impact on a young person’s mental health.
  • Stonewall research also found that 40% of LGBT young people have specifically experienced homophobic, biphobic, or transphobic abuse online.
  • Witnessing hate speech is also a risk, especially if an LGBTQ+ child or young person is openly out within the online gaming arena. Again, 57% of young people have been subjected to this in online gaming.
  • Trolling is a difficult aspect of gaming online, and 64% of young people have been trolled significantly

Unwanted sexual contact

  • 40% of young people have also received unwanted sexual contact in an online game.

Being outed

  • Being outed in an online gaming environment is something that LGBTQ+ children and young people are at risk of that others are not.

Personal information shared without consent

  • Having personal information shared in an online game is another general risk for children and young people, whether they share the information themselves without understanding the risks, or if others share it without their consent.

It is important to be aware that:

  • Not all LGBTQ+ young people will want to come out as LGBTQ+ in online gaming.
  • Also, LGBTQ+ children and young people are likely to play online with peers from school or hobbies as well as some who they meet through online gaming, and therefore people who might already know about their gender or sexual identity. This does not necessarily increase the risk of harm, but it can mean that informing other gamers about this is out of their control.
  • Communicating with strangers online in any format or platform will always carry a certain amount of risk. However, the interaction in online games can be kept brief, and all children and young people have the ability to leave a game or match whenever they choose, regardless of the game they are playing.

The Challenges

Although it might feel like banning online gaming would be more beneficial for the mental and physical wellbeing of your child, this is not feasible, and there are multiple challenges related to balancing their wellbeing with their love of this particular hobby.

Gaming is the new school playground

  • They are likely to use online gaming to connect with friends and peers outside of school.
  • Regularly going online for gaming is social, and they might have a community of friends there that they are unwilling to give up, especially if they are connecting with those people solely online.

Difficult to report incidents

  • There are shortfalls in in-game reporting of cyberbullying, and it can often be difficult to find the area within the game where reporting takes place.

Cyberbullying seen as banter

  • Cyberbullying in online gaming can be difficult for children and young people to identify, and it is often passed off as “banter”.

Fear of losing community if a report is made

  • Specifically, for LGBTQ+ children and young people, witnessing hate speech in online games might be something they are unwilling to communicate with you for fear of losing their hobby and community. Also, for LGBTQ young people who aren’t out yet, telling someone about anti-LGBT hate speech can be intimidating because the young person may fear that doing so will mean coming out as LGBTQ.

Management of personal information

  • Finally, LGBTQ+ children and young people might feel that as long as they are not “out” online, that none of this is going to be an issue for them as no one within that environment are going to know about their sexual orientation. However, they might not understand that they do not always control the flow of their personal information online, and others “outing” them is still a risk.

Practical steps to protect them

Tools and advice to prevent the risk

There are numerous things you can do to help to protect your child from online harassment that occurs in a game, even if you cannot be there to moderate with them. Having an open conversation with them about their gaming habits, who they game with online, and why they enjoy it so much is by far the best way to begin to understand them and the nature of any harassment that might occur.

Things you can do

Play a round with them

The best way for you to understand why your child is willing to risk being harassed or bullied in a game is simply to play it with them. Understand what they enjoy about it, like the strategy, competition or social elements of the game. A great way to bond with them is over something they love, it will also help you to see just how at risk they are by understanding the way things are communicated within the game and the amount of inappropriate language or interaction actually might take place in an average session.

Find out how to report abuse

Have a conversation with your child on what their favourite games are and do some of your own research. Find out how to report abuse in their favourite games and what the processes are with the companies that produce these games. You may never need to use it, but understanding how to do this will give you peace of mind knowing that you can take things further as and when you need to. The reporting varies across game, platform and publisher, so it’s best to find out what it is for each of your child’s favourite games.

Talk to your child about oversharing

Oversharing online is something that all children and young people need to be aware of. Have a discussion with your child about sharing their sexuality openly in online games, and the potential risks versus reward this could bring. The aim of this is not to make them ashamed of their sexuality, but rather to protect them against witnessing harmful abuse or hate speech. It is important to note when discussing this with them that even if they do decide to keep their sexuality or gender identity private, these types of insults might still be thrown around casually within this space.

Set gaming times

As with social media use, talk to them about their time spent gaming and ensure they can balance this with a healthy sleeping pattern and maintaining all their other commitments. It would be more likely that older gamers will be online late in the evening and into the night, whereas gamers their own age will be online earlier and after school. Try to set a timetable that would be able to protect them from older gamers who might be more likely to be abusive or use inappropriate language in the chat function.

Conversations to have

Discuss with them what they get out of the gaming experience

What do they enjoy? What would they change if they could? Who do they communicate with the most when they play?

Identify with them what kind of information they are putting out there

When they game – do they use their real name? Real age? Gender identity or sexual orientation? Remind them it’s up to them what they feel comfortable sharing with others online. Also, talk to them about the importance of not sharing personal or identifying information with strangers.

Ask if they have ever witnessed bullying in online games

Asking them directly if they have been bullied or have perpetrated bullying is not likely to elicit a truthful answer as they might be fearful that access to the game will be taken away. Instead, asking if they have ever witnessed it generally will help you gauge if it is happening where they play.

Dealing with online issues

As a parent or carer for an LGBTQ+ children and young people, you might have some concerns on how to handle in-game abuse and bullying that your child might be subjected to. To help you deal with these potential issues we’ve provided guidance on things you can do and places you can go for support and further advice.

Things to remember

It is important to remember that your child might not even be experiencing these harms, and possibly have never witnessed bullying, hate speech, or any other harm in a game before. As such, there may be nothing you need to protect them from in this case. Nevertheless, it is important to be prepared that these issues could arise at any time, and having an action plan to support them can give you the confidence you need to give them the support they need.

Also, young people may not immediately tell a carer about the bullying, for fear of having to come out (or losing access to the game), so it’s important to keep an eye out for any behaviour changes which might indicate a young person is experiencing bullying.

What are the main issues?

Bullying in game

Bullying in a game can be difficult for your child or young person to go through, as games are often where they go to wind down, decompress, or socialise with friends and peers. If bullying is frequent, this could drive them away from what they enjoy, and affect their mental wellbeing.

Coping strategies

  • Have an open and honest discussion with your child about what kind of bullying is taking place, how frequently it happens, and on which game or platform it happens
  • Educate yourself on how to report bullying in different games – it varies widely from game to game and platform to platform
  • Make sure they know they are not alone in this, and you are there to support them
  • Suggest they take a break from the game for a little while if it is having a continued impact on their mental health. It will help them to realise that this is not their entire life.

Where to go for support and advice

Mental wellbeing support

If your child is struggling with their mental wellbeing because of bullying, consider taking them to a GP for some support. They will be able to direct you to a therapist or other mental health services.

Witnessing Hate Speech

Hate speech is often thrown around in online gaming platforms and often can come even if your child or young person is not out online, instead used as a generic insult for many gamers. Witnessing a serious incident of hate speech, whether it was directed to your child or young person or not, can be very damaging for their mental wellbeing and their confidence in who they are.

Coping strategies

  • Talk about what they have seen or been told and identify the pain points – why did it upset them? Was it directed to them?
  • Identify who or where the hate speech came from, and report it through the game.
  • If it is part of a chain of offences, escalate the complaint in line with the procedures of the game.
  • Ensure they know that hate speech is never ok, and it is not because of who they are that this has happened. It is always more of a reflection on the perpetrator than on the victim.
  • As with cases of bullying, consider suggesting they take a break from the game.

Where to go for support and advice

Hate speech and trolling

Trolling is often seen as another form of bullying but can be an ongoing pattern of behaviour that can be quite damaging to children and young people’s mental wellbeing. For example, in a multi-player game, it could be where a player purposely says something controversial in order to get a rise out of other users or distract others to win the game. It can make children and young people’s gaming environment more stressful and can be a slope towards experiencing more bullying behaviours.

Coping strategies

  • Where is the trolling happening? How frequently does it happen? What form does the trolling take? Is it stalking in a game, is it verbal insults?
  • See if your child or young person would take a break from the social functions within the game, so they cannot be contacted by the troll during a match.
  • Let them know that you are there for them and they can discuss with you again if the trolling escalates.

Where to go for support and advice

Setting up for success for safe gaming

Play a round with them

The best way for you to understand why your child is willing to risk being harassed or bullied in a game is simply to play it with them. Understand what they enjoy about it, like the strategy, competition, or social elements of the game. A great way to bond with them is over something they love, it will also help you to see just how at risk they are by understanding the way things are communicated within the game and the amount of inappropriate language or interaction actually might take place in an average session.

Find out how to report abuse

Have a conversation with your child on what their favourite games are and do some of your own research. Find out how to report abuse in their favourite games and what the processes are with the companies that produce these games. You may never need to use it but understanding how to do this will give you peace of mind knowing that you can take things further as and when you need to. The reporting varies across games, platforms, and publishers, so it’s best to find out what it is for each of your child’s favourite games.

Talk to your child about oversharing

Oversharing online is something that all children and young people need to be aware of. Have a conversation with the young person and support them to understand that it’s their choice whether they want to come out as LGBTQ+ to the people they game with online. Nobody should have to come out if they are not ready to do so. Equally, if a person does want to come out, they have a right to be treated with respect.

Make sure the young person knows that if they are bullied, harassed, trolled, or otherwise discriminated against online on the basis of being LGBTQ+, this is unacceptable. Let them know you’ll be there to support them if this happens. Support them to identify the steps they can take if this happens to them (e.g. reporting, blocking) and let them know they can tell you what’s happened and you’ll be there to help them.’. The aim of this is not to make them ashamed of their sexuality, but rather to protect them against witnessing harmful abuse or hate speech. It is important to note when discussing this with them that even if they do decide to keep their sexuality or gender identity private, these types of insults might still be thrown around casually within this space.

Set gaming times

As with social media use, talk to them about their time spent gaming and ensure they can balance this with a healthy sleeping pattern and maintaining all their other commitments. It would be more likely that older gamers will be online late in the evening and into the night, whereas gamers their own age will be online earlier and after school. Try to set a timetable that would be able to protect them from older gamers who might be more likely to be abusive or use inappropriate language in the chat function.

Recommended resources

Here are some more resources to support children and young people. Visit the Inclusive Digital Safety resource centre for more expert resources.

Finding support group through Stonewall

Mermaids Kids and young people helpline and resources for trans people – 0808 801 0400

LGBT Youth Scotland support site

Teen advice on where to go for support and guidance.

Ways to get in contact with Childlines counsellors.

Making the internet safer and more inclusive

Together with SWGfL we've created this hub to provide online safety advice and guidance to support parents & professionals working with children and young people experiencing vulnerabilities.

Let us know what you think of the hub. Take a short survey

Was this useful?
Tell us why
Scroll Up