安全地在线浏览

支持有特殊教育需求和残疾的儿童(SEND)

为帮助有特殊教育需要和残障(CYPLE)的CYP安全地在线浏览,我们提供了一系列实用的工具,可帮助他们安全地进行操作。

页面上有什么

你需要知道什么

互联网是所有儿童和年轻人(CYP)的游戏规则改变者。 借助唾手可得的信息,他们可以扩展自己的想法,发现新的激情并扩展他们的知识。

虽然这可能是有益的力量,但也可能是儿童偶然发现可能损害其健康的不适当内容的地方。

获取有关使用SEND进行CYP的在线浏览方式有何不同的建议,以及它们所面临的收益,风险和挑战。

超值优惠

互联网消除了世界的障碍

随着越来越多的网站可以满足不同的残疾需求,年轻人可以在一个公平的竞争环境中与世界互动。 它使他们能够访问庞大的信息库,以促进更广泛的对话并深入研究他们热衷的主题。 技术的使用可以通过帮助建立信心和自尊来增强CYP的能力。

让他们发现兴趣并提高技能

随着YouTube和其他共享平台作为学习新事物的场所的发展,互联网已成为年轻人发现新爱好和兴趣并通过视频,博客和游戏向他人学习的重要工具。

支持学习

在支持年轻人尤其是通过Covid19开展的学业方面,必须能够使用互联网。 无论是使用特定的应用程序来提高他们的技能,还是使用在线研究来支持他们的家庭作业,在线连接都不再是必不可少的,而是一种常规。 大多数与使用计算机促进SEND学生学习的好处有关的学术文献都同意,技术是支持积极教育成果的强大资源。

支持发展-认知,情感,社交,学习和运动技能

无论是支持认知发展,情感和社交学习还是运动技能发展,都有许多出色的辅助技术可以帮助他们在面临挑战的领域中发展。 技术通常可以支撑SEND儿童的生活,因此他们可能在很小的时候就可以使用技术。

风险

不适内容

随着CYP在网上花费的时间更长,变得更加活跃和独立,他们将不可避免地看到可能使他们感到不安或困惑的事物。 这可能包括性,暴力或有害内容。 我们知道,使用SEND的CYP也更可能看到促进自我伤害和自杀的内容。

CYP经历漏洞的站点中有27%的人查看会促进自我伤害的站点,而非脆弱人群中的这一比例为17%,而经常性厌食症站点中的25%的人则为17%。 [来源]

NSPCC 例如,有56%的11-16岁儿童在网上看到了露骨的内容,而在英国12至15岁的儿童中,有三分之一的人在网上看到了性别歧视,种族主义或歧视性内容。

好奇心和算法重复的结合也可能导致CYP在越来越多的不合适位置看到内容。

重要的是要注意,虽然可以应用控件和过滤器来限制对不适当网站的访问,但它们不能阻止所有内容。 点击承诺免费的广告或在社交媒体上滚动可以使CYP暴露于成人内容或仇恨言论。

假新闻和虚假信息

12-15岁的年轻人中有超过一半的人经常使用社交媒体作为新闻来源。 虽然只有三分之一的人认为社交媒体的故事是真实的,但据估计,有一半的孩子承认自己担心假新闻。

由于虚假新闻故事将真理与谎言混为一谈,所以大多数人有时很难从虚构的故事中找出事实。 对于有额外学习需求的孩子来说,这尤其困难。

假新闻对年轻人构成风险,因为有些新闻可能会对现实世界产生影响。 最近,所谓的“反vaxxers”运动和最近的假货 MOMO 恐慌都是假新闻掠夺我们和我们孩子的情绪的不同方式的例子。

在线影响者的影响

现在,青年人拥有经常观看并渴望成为自己喜欢的YouTuber成为一种规范。 YouTube上一些热门话题涉及敏感问题,其中包括变性少年Jazz Jennings,迈克·福克斯(Mike Fox)和佐拉(Zoella),他们讨论自杀念头,焦虑和抑郁等话题。

尽管对于以前可能遭到拒绝或孤立的孩子来说,听到他人公开谈论此类话题的能力可以极大地增强他们的能力,但对于某些可能会模仿行为或接受不真实或无用的想法的弱势观众来说,这些信息也可能使他们非常困惑在个人层面上。 这可能会使寻找年轻人问题的根源并指导他们寻求适当帮助变得很复杂。

复制危险行为

在诸如“不要笑”之类的汇编视频的通常愚蠢和平庸的内容中,通常会有一个视频,有人在戏弄朋友或陌生人。 一些YouTube用户围绕上传这种性质的视频而发展了自己的YouTube角色。 除了通过复制网上看到的行为而使孩子受伤或陷入麻烦的风险外,对于恶作剧的参与者已同意参加的程度,孩子们可能会感到困惑。

对身份的影响

看到不断完美的身体流可以给年轻人带来不切实际的期望,让他们看起来能够导致低身体尊重的某种方式。

不断提高的追求完美的压力会促使年轻人隐藏他们在线上的人物,并描绘他们不在线的人物。

同样,他们可能会在他人的看法上给予更多重视,因此,对某条帖子发表负面评论或没有足够的喜欢可以对他们的自尊心和心理健康产生真正的负面影响。

在线诈骗

骗子在网上将孩子作为目标的最常见方式是通过社交媒体,弹出窗口和游戏。 他们可能会被诱使点击某个广告或帖子以答对某些东西太好以至于无法实现,只是发现他们已将恶意软件下载到其设备上或必须提供个人详细信息以索取礼物。

这些类型的骗局对于SEND的孩子可能很难辨认,因为它们看起来非常真实,而且看起来似乎合理,而实际上他们是精心设计的骗局,可以窃取个人信息和金钱。

聊天室

尽管大多数儿童在流行的社交媒体网络上与朋友保持社交联系,但患有SEND的儿童可能会对特定主题产生浓厚的兴趣,并寻求方法来扩大他们的知识。 这可能涉及使用基于Web的聊天室,尽管这些聊天室可能是积极的环境,但始终存在儿童可能与他们不认识的人建立联系的风险。

重要的是要意识到:

  • 与没有困难的儿童相比,患有SEND的儿童更有可能遇到所有在线风险。
  • 在不同类型的风险中,患有SEND的儿童更可能在线上遇到接触风险。 这样的例子包括在压力和胁迫下发短信。 他们似乎被捕食并被挑出来。
  • 沟通困难的儿童也更有可能遇到接触风险。
  • 与无障碍的同龄人相比,他们更可能在聊天室中度过时间,后者可以促进直接交流,并以露骨的性爱,影射和淫秽语言而著称。
  • 接触风险还与看到有害内容和在线上遭受他人攻击行为的更大风险相关。

面临的挑战

根据我们的研究,我们知道,有脆弱性的孩子暴露于仇恨言论和煽动自我伤害和自杀的内容的可能性是没有脆弱性的孩子的三倍。

其他 研究 研究还表明,与非SEND儿童的父母相比,SEND儿童的父母也更担心极端主义者的招募,这可能表明他们对孩子的孤立性和轻信性感到焦虑。

尽管人们担心孩子可能会因为脆弱性而面临更大的风险,但父母们一致认为,在线世界可以为孩子提供SEND带来的好处超过了风险。

 你应该考虑什么?

  • 准备他们可能会看到的东西

尽管您可能已打开所有隐私设置和过滤器以在它们周围创建保护气泡,但事先与他们讨论它们可能遇到的问题也同样重要。

如果他们看到了,这将帮助他们减轻恐惧,并且他们将能够使用一些应对策略来限制对他们的健康的影响。 由于患有SEND的儿童可能更敏感,因此重要的是,要平衡有关风险的对话,不要让他们推迟上网。

  • 不仅要考虑年龄限制,还要考虑他们的成熟度

重要的是要记住,尽管孩子可能已经长大到可以使用某些网站和应用程序的地步,但他们可能会接触到他们尚未准备好应对的事物。

  • 定期检查他们在网上做什么

定期进行对话,讨论他们在网上喜欢什么,以及他们如何导航自己的在线世界以发现他们是否需要更多支持来解决问题。 随着年龄的增长,他们可能不太愿意分享他们的工作,而对他们的工作则更加保密,但诀窍是继续在线签到并庆祝他们的成功,以使他们感到开放。

保护他们的实际步骤

对于使用SEND的CYP,互联网是一个他们可以表达和分享其思想和信念,获得支持并减少隔离的地方。 如果他们已经在线浏览和社交,那么使用工具和策略来帮助他们从在线互动中获得最大收益是关键。

安全设置技术

作为有其他需要的孩子的父母或照料者,拥有更大的视野和监督对确保您的孩子状况良好会非常有帮助。 而且,当事情冒着出错的危险时,这还使您有机会及早干预并与孩子一起学习。

越来越多的应用程序和软件解决方案可以帮助您和您的孩子照顾自己。 这些可以帮助您密切监视他们的活动,并在他们何时需要您帮助时进行干预。

始终告诉您的孩子您正在监视什么以及为什么。 认识到孩子会想要一些隐私,因此请准备好适应和减少随着孩子的成长而进行的监视的程度。 仅在您认为孩子有受到伤害的风险的情况下进行干预。

预防风险的工具和建议

苹果设备工具

来自iOS的屏幕时间

Apple设备上的“屏幕时间”功能允许您使用密码设置时间限制,内容和隐私限制。 见 如何指导 设置它。

苹果设备上的家庭共享

Apple设备上的此功能使您可以共享云存储和购买。 它使您可以监视孩子在屏幕上的使用时间,他们访问了哪些网站以及他们使用的应用程序。 见 如何指导 设置它。

Apple设备上的引导式访问

iOS还具有引导式访问,这是在设定的时间内控制对单个应用程序的访问的独立方式,如果您共享设备,则很有用。 您可以 在这里找到更多。

家庭宽带和WiFi

除了使用设备上的应用程序和工具外,您还可以在家庭宽带上设置过滤器,管理孩子在各种游戏机和平台上看到的内容,管理他们在笔记本电脑和PC上的帐户,以及打开安全搜索。 请访问我们的家长控制操作指南 获得简单的视觉指南,以利用免费的安全设置。
您还可以在孩子的智能手机上设置过滤器-您可以管理过滤器网站的内容并限制对成人网站的访问。 查看我们的 iOS系统 如何获得更多信息的指南。

Android设备工具

Google Family链接

Google Family Link可让您监督,远程控制访问,并为孩子的Android设备添加过滤器和内容限制。 重要的是,您可以使用Android或iOS智能手机来监视孩子的Android设备。 见 如何指导 设置它。

Google数位健康

它使您可以访问一系列屏幕时间数据,以便查看使用的应用程序以及在这些应用程序上花费的时间。 重要的是,它还包含Google Family Link中的父母控制功能。 更多 关于功能。

谷歌Play商店

您可以使用实际PlayStore中的设置控制孩子可以从应用商店下载的应用。 见 如何指导 设置它。

你可以做的事情

保持在线和离线生活的热情

Ask your CYP what they get up to, anything that happens during the day, ask who their friends are.询问您的CYP他们每天都忙些什么,问他们的朋友是谁。 Talk about this openly in a relaxed environment.在轻松的环境中公开讨论此问题。

教您的CYP习惯说“不”

教他们,如果有人想看到或收到任何裸照或任何其他露骨性爱的视频或照片,说“不”。

教您的CYP了解他们的身体边界

对他们进行教育,使他们知道没有人可以看到或触摸他们的身体部位,也不能拍照,而且秘密既不行,也不是秘密对话。

继续从事数字生活

找出您的孩子喜欢在网上做的事情,并就最适合他们使用的网站和应用程序达成一致。

家庭协议

您可以使用我们的 数字家庭协议 跟踪这些规则并在其在线活动更改时对其进行检查,因此需要较少的监视。

设置家长控制

利用 宽带父母控制 可在大多数流行的宽带服务上使用。 它们使您可以筛选可从连接到WiFi的任何设备访问哪些网站。 请注意,过滤器会阻止网站级别的访问,它们不会过滤网站中的单个内容。

在应用上使用安全设置

通过在他们使用的平台上设置正确的设置来管理他们的访问。 在他们使用的网站上使用所有可用的安全过滤器,并阻止弹出窗口,以阻止他们看到内容不适当的广告。 访问我们的 家长控制权 和隐私指南以获取更多信息。

开启安全搜索

打开 Google安全搜索 并打开 YouTube限制模式 确保他们看到适合年龄的搜索结果。

教他们如何举报

确保他们知道应该在社交平台上举报滥用或不当内容,并考虑阻止任何可能说出有害言论的人。

对话有

谈论不适当的内容

让他们意识到,有时他们可能会遇到他们不愿看到的东西,或者您更希望他们看不到的东西。

帮助他们发现虚假内容

与他们讨论在线上真假的东西– 牛熊证 有可以与您的孩子分享的视频和文章。

讨论应对策略

确保他们知道看到意外弹出窗口时该怎么做,其中可能包括与您共享并关闭它们。 告诉他们不要单击任何意外的弹出窗口。

处理问题

如果CYP看到不适当的内容影响了他们,请执行以下一些步骤(您将对其进行调整以适合您对CYP的了解):

  • 讨论他们是如何发现内容的–是只是好奇而无意间偶然发现了内容,还是故意搜索了内容?
  • 向他们保证这不是一件坏事,并向您展示他们的好奇心。 虽然谈论这些话题可能会感到不舒服,但重要的是不要回避帮助他们了解所见
  • 如果他们进行搜索-尝试找出他们为什么需要这样做-帮助他们了解如果他们有任何具体问题,最好找您或另一个值得信赖的成年人
  • 如果内容是由朋友建议的,并且他们可以向他们展示如何在朋友发现自己的内容令人反感的情况下如何挑战朋友
  • 谈论一下他们如何评估自己可能需要的情感支持
  • 如果他们不能跟你说话,有组织就好 儿童热线 他们可以与训练有素的辅导员讨论他们可能会感觉到的事情
  • 查看设置和控件 在他们用来确保将其设置为正确级别的平台上
  • 如果他们深受内容的影响,请考虑建议他们暂时停止上网,并专注于其他可能使他们更快乐的活动
  • 如果您认为其中的内容可能影响您孩子的心理健康,最好去看您的全科医生。 根据评论的严重性,建议您提交警方报告。 如果您确实要执行此步骤,请确保保留一些证据,以记录发生的事情及其对他们的影响

推荐资源

这里有一些更多的资源来支持儿童和年轻人。 造访 包容性数字安全资源中心 获取更多专家资源。

对父母和照顾者的帮助

家长控制操作指南

 

.

年轻人-0808 802 5544(上午9.30-下午4点开放)

.

残疾儿童家庭联系– 0808 808 3555(上午10点至下午5点开放)

报告有害内容–帮助所有人在线报告有害内容

儿童和年轻人

什么是不恰当的内容?

孩童专线– 0800 1111(24小时开放)

撒玛利亚人– 08457 90 90 90(24小时开放)

使互联网更安全,更具包容性

我们与SWGfL一起创建了该中心,以提供在线安全建议和指南,以支持与遭受漏洞的儿童和年轻人一起工作的父母和专业人员。

让我们知道您对中心的看法。 做一个简短的调查

这有用吗?
告诉我们为什么
向上滚动

Staying safe while browsing online

The internet is a game-changer for all children and young people (CYP). With information at their fingertips, it allows them to broaden their ideas, discover new passions, and expand their knowledge.

While it can be a force for good, it can also be a place where children stumble upon inappropriate content that can harm their wellbeing.

What’s on the page

What you need to know

To help CYP with special educational needs and disabilities (SEND) browse safely online, we’ve provided a range of practical things you can do to equip them to do it safely.

How browsing online can be different for CYP with SEND – and the benefits, risks, and challenges they face.

The Benefits

The internet removes barriers to the world

As websites become more accessible to cater for different disabilities, this allows young people to engage with the world on a level playing field. It gives them access to a huge library of information to contribute to wider conversations and to dive into the topics they are passionate about. The use of technology can empower CYP by helping to build confidence and self-esteem.

Allows them to discover interest and improve their skills

With the growth of YouTube and other sharing platforms as places to learn new things, the internet has become a vital tool for young people to discover new hobbies and interests, and improve their skills by learning from others through videos, blogs, and games.

Supports learning

Having access to the internet has become a necessity when it comes to supporting young people in their schoolwork, especially through Covid19. Whether it’s using a specific app to improve their skills or doing research online to support their homework, connecting online is no longer nice-to-have but the norm. Most academic literature relating to the benefits of using computers to boost learning for pupils with SEND agrees that technology is a powerful resource in supporting positive educational outcomes

Supports development - cognitive,emotional, social, learning and motor skills

There are many great assistive technologies that can help support children’s development in the areas they find challenging, whether they support cognitive development, emotional and social learning or motor skills development. Technology can often underpin the lives of children with SEND so they may have access to technology at a very young age.

Resource document

See Hopes & Stream survey from LGfL – 40,000 pupils share what really goes on behind closed screens

The Risks

Inappropriate content

As CYP spend longer online and become more active and independent, they will inevitably see something that may upset or confuse them. This can include sexual, violent or harmful content. We know that CYP with SEND are also more likely to see content that promotes self-harm and suicide.

27%  of CYP experiencing vulnerabilities view sites promoting self- harm compared to 17% of non-vulnerable peers, and 25% often view pro-anorexia sites in contrast to 17% of peers. [Source]

NSPCC say 56% of 11-16-year-olds have seen explicit material online and a third of children in the UK aged between 12-15 have seen sexist, racist, or discriminatory content online.

The combination of curiosity and algorithmic repetition can also lead CYP to see content in more and more places that may not be appropriate.

It’s important to note that while controls and filters can be applied to limit access to inappropriate websites they can’t block out everything. A click on an ad promising free things or a scroll on social media can expose CYP to adult content or hate speech.

Fake news and misinformation

More than half of 12-15 year-olds go to social media as their regular source of news. And while only a third believe that social media stories are truthful, it is estimated that half of the children asked admitted being worried about fake news.

As fake news stories mix truth and lies it can be hard for most people at times to work out facts from fiction. This can be especially difficult for children with additional learning needs.

Fake news poses a risk to young people because some can have real-world implications. More recently the so-called “Anti-vaxxers” movement and the recent fake Momo scare are both examples of different ways that fake news preys on our emotions and those of our children.

Impact of influencers online

It’s now the norm for young people to have favourite YouTubers that they regularly watch and aspire to be like. Some popular YouTubers talk about sensitive issues include transgender teen Jazz Jennings, and Mike Fox and Zoella who discuss, amongst other topics, suicidal ideation, anxiety, and depression.

While the ability to hear others talk openly on such topics can be extremely empowering for children who may have previously experienced rejection or isolation such messages can also be very confusing for some vulnerable viewers who may imitate behaviours or take on ideas that are not true or helpful for them on an individual level. This can make it complicated to get to the source of a young person’s issues and guide them to appropriate help.

Copying dangerous behaviour

Amongst the usually silly and banal content of compilation videos such as Try Not to Laugh there will usually be a video of someone pranking a friend or stranger. Some YouTubers have developed their YouTube persona around uploading videos of this nature. Aside from the risk of children getting hurt or into trouble by copying behaviours that they see enacted online, children can be confused as to the extent that the participants of the prank have consented to participate.

Impact on identity

Seeing constant streams of perfect bodies can put unrealistic expectations on young people to look a certain way which can lead to low ‘body esteem’.

This increased pressure to be perfect can push young people to hide who they are online and portray something they are not.

Equally, they may place more value in how others see them so getting a negative comment or not enough likes on a post can have a real negative impact on their self-esteem and mental health

Online scams

The most common ways that children are targeted by scammers online is through social media, pop-ups and gaming. They may be lured into clicking on an ad or a post promising something too good to be true only to find that they have either downloaded malware onto their device or have to provide personal details to claim the gift.

These types of scams can be hard for children with SEND to recognise as they may look very real and seem plausible when in fact they are elaborate scams to steal personal information and money.

Chat rooms

Whilst most children stay socially connected with friends on the popular social media networks, children with SEND may develop deep interests in a particular subject and seek out ways to broaden their knowledge. This may involve the use of web-based chat rooms and whilst these can be positive environments, there is always a risk that children may be connecting with people they do not know.

It is important to be aware that:

  • Children with SEND are more likely to experience all online risks compared to those without any difficulties.
  • Out of the different types of risks, children with SEND are significantly more likely to experience contact risks online. Examples of this include sexting under pressure and coercion. They appear to be preyed upon and singled out.
  • Children with communication difficulties are also more likely to experience contact risks.
  • They are more likely to spend time in chat rooms than their non-vulnerable peers which can facilitate direct communication and are known for explicit sexual talk, innuendos, and obscene language.
  • Experiencing contact risks is also associated with a greater risk of seeing harmful content and experiencing more aggressive behaviour from others online.

The Challenges

Based on research on our research, we know that children with vulnerabilities have three times more likely to be exposed to hate speech and content promoting self-harm and suicide than children without vulnerabilities.

Other research has also shown that parents of children with SEND also have a greater fear of extremist recruitment than parents of non-SEND children which may suggest anxiety about their children’s isolation and gullibility.

While there is this fear that a child may be more at risk because of their vulnerability, parents agree that the benefits outweigh the risks when it comes to what the online world can offer children with SEND.

 What things should you consider?

  • Prepare them for what they might see

While you may have turned on all the privacy settings and filters to create a bubble of protection around them, it’s equally important to talk to them about what they might come across beforehand.

This will help them be less frightened if they do see it and they’ll be able to use some coping strategies to limit the impact on their wellbeing. As children with SEND may be more sensitive, it’s important that conversation on the risks are balanced and don’t lead them to be put off going online.

  • Don’t just consider age limits but their level of maturity as well

It’s important to remember that although children may be old enough to use certain websites and apps, they may be exposed to things that they’re not emotionally ready to deal with.

  • Check-in regularly about what they do online

Have regular conversations about what they enjoy online and how they navigate their online world to spot if they need more support to tackle an issue. As they get older they may be less willing to share and more secretive about what they do but the trick is to continue to check-in and celebrate their successes online to allow them to feel comfortable to open up.

Practical steps to protect them

For CYP with SEND, the internet is a place where they can express and share their thoughts and beliefs, access support and reduce isolation. If they are already browsing and socialising online, using tools and strategies to help them get the best from their online interactions is key.

Set up tech safely

As a parent or carer of a child with additional needs, having greater visibility and supervision can be extremely helpful to reassure you your child is doing fine. But also when things run the risk of going wrong, this allows you an opportunity to intervene early and to create learning moments with your child.

There is an increasing number of apps and software solutions that can both help you and your child to look after themselves. These can help you monitor their activities closely and allow you to intervene if or when they need your help.

Always tell your child what you are monitoring and why. Recognise that children will want some privacy, so be prepared to adapt and reduce the level of monitoring you put in place as your child matures. Only intervene in situations where you think your child is at risk of harm.

Tools and advice to prevent the risk

Apple device tools

Screen time from iOS

The Screen Time function on Apple devices allows you to set time limits, content, and privacy restrictions by using a passcode. See the how-to guide to set it up.

Family Sharing on Apple devices

This feature on Apple devices allows you to share cloud storage and purchases. It lets you monitor your children’s screen time use, what websites they visit, and the apps they use. See the how-to guide to set it up.

Guided Access on Apple devices

iOS also has guided access which is a stand-alone way of controlling access to a single app for a set time, useful if you are sharing devices. You can find out more here.

Home Broadband and WiFi

In addition to using on-device apps and tools. You can also set filters on your home broadband, manage what your child sees on a range of gaming consoles and platforms, manage their accounts on laptops and PCs, and turn on safe search. Visit our Parental control how-to guides to get simple visual guides to make use of free safety settings.
You can also set filters on your child’s smartphone – you can manage filter website content and limit access to adult sites. View or iOS how-to guide for more information.

Android device tools

Google Family link

Google Family Link lets you supervise, control access remotely, and add filters and content restrictions to your child’s Android device. Importantly you can use an Android or iOS smartphone to monitor your child’s Android device. See the how-to guide to set it up.

Google Digital Wellbeing

It gives you access to a range of screen time data that lets you review the apps you use and the time spent on them. It also importantly includes the parental controls capability from the Google Family Link. Learn more about the feature.

Google Play Store

You can control the apps your child can download from the app store by using the settings in the actual PlayStore. See the how-to guide to set it up.

Things you can do

Stay engaged with your online and offline life

Ask your CYP what they get up to, anything that happens during the day, ask who their friends are. Talk about this openly in a relaxed environment

Teach your CYP to be comfortable with saying ‘no’

Teach them that if someone wants to see or receive any nudes or any other sexually explicit videos or photos of themselves to say ‘no’.

Teach your CYP about their body boundaries

Educate them on the fact no one should see or touch their body parts, nor should they take pictures, and that secrets are not OK nor secret conversations

Stay engaged in their digital life

Find out the kind of things your child likes to do online and agree on which websites and apps are the best for them to use.

Family agreement

You can use our digital family agreement to keep track of these rules and review them as their activities online changes and they require less monitoring.

Setting up parental controls

Make use of broadband parental controls available on most popular broadband services. They allow you to filter which websites you can access from any device connected to your WiFi. Be aware that filters block at a website level, they do not filter individual pieces of content within a website.

Use safety settings on apps

Manage their access by setting the right settings on the platforms they use. Use any safety filters available on the sites they use and block pop-ups to stop them seeing ads that may have inappropriate content. Visit our parental controls and privacy guides for more information.

Switch on safe search

Switch on Google SafeSearch and turn on YouTube Restricted Mode to make sure they see age-appropriate search results.

Teach them how to report

Ensure they know that they should report abusive or inappropriate content on the social platform and consider blocking anyone that may be saying hurtful things.

Conversations to have

Talk about inappropriate content

Make them aware that sometimes they may come across things that they’d prefer not to see, or that you would prefer they didn’t see.

Help them spot fake content

Talk to them about what is real and fake online – CBBC has videos and articles you can share with your child.

Discuss coping strategies

Make sure they know what to do when they see unexpected pop-ups, which may include sharing with you and closing them down. Tell them not to click on any unexpected pop-ups.

Dealing with Issues

If a CYP has seen inappropriate content that has affected them, here are some steps you can do (you will want to adapt it to fit with your knowledge of your CYP):

  • Discuss how they came across the content – were they simply curious and stumble across it accidentally, or were they deliberately searching it out?
  • Reassure them that it is not a bad thing and show you understand their curiosity. Whilst the topics may be uncomfortable to talk about it’s important not to shy away from helping them understand what they have seen
  • If they search for it – try to find out why they felt the need to – help them understand that it may be better to come to you or another trusted adult if they have any specific questions
  • If the content was suggested by a friend and they can, show them how to gently challenge their friends if they find their content offensive
  • Talk about how it made them feel to assess what emotional support they may need
  • If they can’t talk to you, there are organisations like Childline where they can talk to trained counsellors about what they may be feeling
  • Review settings and controls on the platforms they use to ensure that these are set to the right levels
  • If they are deeply affected by the content, consider advising them to take a break from going online, and concentrate on other activities that might make them happier
  • If you feel that the content may be affecting your child’s mental health and wellbeing, it’s best to go and see your GP. Depending on the seriousness of the comments, it might be advisable to file a police report. If you do take this step, make sure you keep some evidence that records what has happened and how it’s affected them

Recommended resources

Help for parents and carers

Inclusive digital safety resources

 

.

Parental control how-to guides

 

.

Young minds – 0808 802 5544 (open 9.30 am – 4 pm)

.

Contact for families with disabled children – 0808 808 3555 (open 10 am – 5 pm)

Report Harmful Content – Helping everyone to report harmful content online

Children and young people

What is inappropriate content?

Childline – 0800 1111 (open 24 hours)

Samaritans – 08457 90 90 90 (open 24 hours)

Scroll Up