家长分享管理儿童数字生活和代码思想的经验

Jeanette是两个青少年的妈妈,Tim(15)和Daisy(13)。 她与丈夫一起住在多塞特郡并分享她对她的看法 新的儿童在线代码 以及她面临的管理孩子在线生活的挑战。

在线安全的“常识”方法

Jeanette解释说,在线安全是一个经常出现的问题,对家庭来说非常重要。 “我的儿子是自闭症,而且有人可能撒谎,而不是他们在网上说的话,这对他来说很难理解,”她说。

很多规则只是常识。 “我们要求他们没有易于猜测的密码,如果他们参与在线游戏,他们就不会使用他们的真实姓名或位置。”

最大的在线安全问题

对于珍妮特来说,她最关心的是社交媒体,以及它对青少年的压力。 “在80s或90s中,如果一位同学想要取笑某人关于他们的头发或体重,那么它将仅限于学校,”她说。 “如今,每部手机都配有摄像头,羞辱和欺凌的风险更大。 即使图像被删除,它仍然在某处,谁知道有多少人会看到它?“

使用工具和明确的指南

作为一个妈妈,珍妮特认为她的角色和支持,并限制她孩子的在线生活。 “制定明确的指导方针确实很有帮助,但我们确实有其他工具。”

例如,该系列使用Microsoft软件,该软件每周通过活动报告发送。 此外,WiFi设置为阻止访问某些网站,而Jeanette使用的应用程序可以在睡觉前关闭孩子们的iPad。 两个孩子的手机都链接到共享的iCloud照片库,因此Jeanette可以监控用儿童设备拍摄的照片。

当然,没有一个系统是完美的,有些时候Jeanette不得不介入。 “我发现,如果我必须和儿子谈论他试图获取他不应该做的事情,他已经理解为什么限制到位,以及为什么这些内容不合适。”

数字'绿色交叉代码',教孩子们在网上做出明智的选择

珍妮特也意识到她不能总是在那里监视她的孩子。 “我的儿子必须坐两趟火车上学,他有一部电话。 一方面我们知道他安全地从A到B安全,但另一方面,我们不知道他可能在我们的家庭WiFi的安全网之外访问什么。“

一个人的珍妮特支持儿童的“数字绿色交叉代码”的想法,也许与学校合作。 “我认为重点应该是用户不应该在网上说出他们不会亲自说的话,名人图片会被过滤和照片购买,他们在网上看到的”完美“生活并不一定如此。”

幸运的是,到目前为止,这个家庭只经历过一次网络欺凌事件。 “我的儿子认为他很精明,但他很震惊,在网络游戏中被其他用户告知他会追踪我的儿子并杀死他,”珍妮特说。

解决网络欺凌事件

值得庆幸的是,Tim能够立即告诉他的父母,他们能够进行调查。 “我们检查并确定这个人在数千英里之外,这意味着我们可以向我儿子保证不会发生任何事情,”珍妮特说。 “在那次事件之后,我们建议他不要进入任何可以看到这个人的游戏或世界。”

家长提示 - 沟通

珍妮特为青少年父母提供的最佳建议是继续沟通。 “这有助于您的孩子在需要时感到可以寻求建议。 我认为重要的是要坦诚地对待场景,而不是以这样的方式恐吓他们并利用可用的筛选和安全功能,因为青少年自然很好奇!“

更多探索

这里有更多资源可以帮助您确保您的孩子在线安全

最近的帖子

向上滚动

Parent shares experience of managing children’s digital lives and thoughts on code

Jeanette is a working Mum of two teenagers, Tim (15) and Daisy (13). She lives in Dorset with her husband and shares her take on the new online code for kids and the challenges she faces managing her kids online lives.

‘Common sense’ approach to online safety

Online safety is an issue that regularly comes up, and is something that’s really important to the family, Jeanette explains. “My son is autistic, and the fact that someone might lie and not be who they say online is quite hard for him to understand,” she says.

Lots of the rules are just common sense. “We ask they don’t have passwords that are easy to guess, and if they participate in an online game, they don’t use their real name or their location.”

Biggest online safety concern

For Jeanette, the biggest concern she has is social media, and the pressures it can place on teens. “In the 80s or 90s, if a classmate wanted to tease someone about their hair, or weight, it would be confined to school,” she says. “Nowadays, every phone has a camera and the risks for humiliation and bullying are greater. Even if an image is deleted, it’s still out there somewhere and who knows how many people will have seen it?”

Using tools and clear guidelines

As a Mum, Jeanette views her role and being to support, and to restrict her children’s online lives. “Having clear guidelines set down is really helpful, but we do have other tools.”

For example, the family uses Microsoft software, which sends through an activity report each week. Also, the WiFi is set to prevent access to certain sites, and Jeanette uses an app that shuts down the children’s iPads prior to bedtime. Both children’s phones are linked to a shared iCloud photo library, so Jeanette is able to monitor photos taken with the children’s devices.

Of course, no system is perfect and there have been occasions where Jeanette has had to intervene. “What I find though is that if I have to talk to my son about his attempts to access something he shouldn’t, he has understood why the restrictions are in place, and why that content wasn’t appropriate.”

Digital ‘green cross code’ to teach kids to make smart choices online

Jeanette is also aware that she can’t always be there to monitor her children. “My son has to take two trains to school, and he has a phone. On the one hand we have the safety of knowing he is getting from A to B safely, but on the other hand, we don’t know what he might access outside the safety net of our home WiFi.”

Jeanette for one supports the idea of a ‘digital green cross code’ for children, perhaps run in partnership with schools. “I think the emphasis should be that users shouldn’t say something online they wouldn’t say in person, that celebrity images are filtered and photo-shopped, and the “perfect” lives they see online aren’t necessarily so.”

Fortunately, the family has only experienced one incident of cyber-bullying so far. “My son thought he was savvy but he was shocked to be told by another user in an online game that he would track down my son and kill him,” says Jeanette.

Resolving cyberbullying incident

Thankfully, Tim felt able to tell his parents immediately, who were able to investigate. “We checked up and established this person was thousands of miles away, and that meant we could reassure my son that nothing was going to happen,” says Jeanette. “Following that incident, we did advise him not to enter any games or worlds where it could be seen that this other person was.”

Parent top tip –  communication

Jeanette’s top tip for parents of teens is to keep communicating. “This helps your children feel that they can seek advice if need be. I think it’s important, to be frank about scenarios but not in such a way that terrifies them and make use of the screening and security features that are available because teenagers are naturally curious!”

More to Explore

Here are more resources to help you keep your child safe online

Scroll Up