Bullying is a complex issue and with it, is an ever-present and continuous problem for people online. Instagram has introduced the new restrict feature in the fight to stand up against bullying on the platform.
Starting today, you can protect your account from unwanted interactions with a new feature called Restrict.
Young people face an excessive amount of online bullying but are reluctant to report or block peers who bully them. Restrict is designed to empower you to quietly protect your account while still keeping an eye on a bully.
You can restrict someone by swiping left on a comment, through the Privacy tab in Settings, or directly on the profile of the account you intend to restrict.
Once Restrict is enabled, comments on your posts from a person you have restricted will only be visible to that person. You can choose to view the comment by tapping “See Comment”; approve the comment so everyone can see it; delete it; or ignore it. You won’t receive any notifications for comments from a restricted account.
Direct messages will automatically move to Message Request, and you will not receive notifications from a restricted account. You can still view the messages but the restricted account will not be able to see when you’ve read their direct messages or when you are active on Instagram. You can choose to “Unrestrict” the account and future messages will go directly to your inbox.
Instagram is also putting their community’s creativity at the centre of their work. They wanted to create a flexible tool that allows young people to speak up, define what’s acceptable in their community and spread positivity on Instagram. Recently, Instagram rolled out a Create Don’t Hate sticker in Stories, calling on the Instagram community to share how they use their creative talents to stand up to bullying.
Instagram is committed to leading the industry in the fight against online bullying and will continue to build on that commitment long term.
See more articles and resources to help children stay safe online.