2020年至2021年影响报告

一起为更好的互联网

在今年的影响报告中,我们记录了我们在这一年中所做的出色工作,以进一步支持各种家庭帮助他们的孩子安全地从互联技术的影响中受益。

您将深入了解我们与合作伙伴和在线安全专家的合作如何改变儿童的在线生活,以及我们希望在来年实现的目标。

母子俩看着笔记本电脑,右上角的文字是“共同创造更好的互联网:2021/22 影响报告”

玛格特·詹姆斯(Margot James)

互联网事务主席

主席的话

“在本报告涵盖的期间,英国经历了多次封锁,对家庭的影响是惊人的。 在这种情况下,我为 Internet Matters 的工作以及他们所取得的一切感到自豪。

一夜之间转向远程工作给包括我们长期的行业合作伙伴在内的许多组织带来了挑战,但毫无疑问,Internet Matters 和联盟已经适应并在其成立 7 周年之际迎来了迄今为止最具影响力的一年。”

查看更多

在这些不确定的时期,家庭从未像现在这样依赖技术与外界联系并找到一些正常感。 技术一直是许多人与朋友和家人联系、继续工作、在家上学和娱乐的生命线。

通过“留在家中安全”等举措,Internet Matters 为家庭提供了关键信息和资源,以确保他们在大流行期间的日常在线生活是充实的,最重要的是安全。 我们继续开展工作,通过新的研究和资源来支持最脆弱的在线年轻人,并支持那些被数字排除在安全信息之外的人,因为他们是有天赋的设备。

随着锁定限制的逐渐解除,Internet Matters 专注于支持父母在孩子的数字连接增加对其整体福祉产生的影响中导航。 我们将继续与我们的合作伙伴合作,尽可能多地联系和支持英国各地的父母及其子女。

在我们分享这份报告时,期待已久的在线安全法案已经发布,信息专员办公室的儿童法典现已生效。 这些都是受欢迎的监管干预措施,我们期待在未来几年看到它们的影响。 我们希望他们一起让互联网成为年轻人更安全的地方。 与此同时,协作是 Internet Matters 工作的核心,我们将继续与广泛的专家、学者、第三部门和行业合作。 在线保护儿童的安全和福祉是复杂的,由于他们的持续承诺和宝贵的支持,我们的工作变得更好。

Internet Matters 的工作离不开我们越来越多的行业合作伙伴的支持,以及他们自 2014 年开始工作以来的一贯承诺。他们的支持以及他们持续合作的意愿使 Internet Matters 能够做出您将在本报告中看到对儿童和青少年生活的真正影响。 这就是为什么我很高兴在 2020 年 XNUMX 月加入 Internet Matters 担任首届主席。

最后,Internet Matters 以成为一个协作组织而自豪,因此,它与广泛的专家、学者和第三部门组织合作。 我们要感谢他们对我们工作的支持,由于他们的投入,这变得更好了。

影响报告摘要

一年的审查

2020年2021月– XNUMX年XNUMX月

意识和用法

帮助儿童在网上保持快乐和健康的挑战几乎触及该国的每个家庭,因此扩大我们的影响力以提高认识至关重要。 与我们的合作伙伴一起,我们继续共同寻找与父母接触和互动的创新方式。

影响与行动

了解互联网事务的影响对于确保我们继续支持父母和专业人士的需求至关重要。 为此,我们与管理我们的影响评估计划的独立研究机构合作。

一年三次,我们与 2,000 名 4-16 岁儿童的父母交谈,询问他们对 internetmatters.org 可用资源的看法和感受,以及他们的不同做法。

的父母更有可能花更多时间了解在线安全知识

的父母很高兴有一个像 Internet Matters 这样支持儿童在线安全的组织

的父母更有可能利用社交媒体上的隐私设置

的父母更有可能与子女谈论如何保持上网安全

的父母感觉更好地准备好处理未来可能出现的问题

的父母更有可能使用家长控制

十分之九的父母 会推荐互联网问题

我们专注于支持家庭的主题

该报告展示了我们在 2020/21 年继续关注的两个领域; 反思封锁对儿童和青少年数字生活的影响,并支持弱势儿童和青少年。 您将在下面找到我们为解决这些主题而创建的研究和资源的摘要。

封锁的教训

毫无疑问,2020 年和 2021 年对于家庭来说是非常具有挑战性的,因为他们一直在努力应对封锁限制对其日常生活的影响。

随着世界陷入停顿,我们感觉到他们对技术的依赖和使用发生了相当大的转变,它成为了继续与外界联系的生命线。 在过去的一年中,我们一直专注于了解父母的需求并在这些不确定的时期为他们提供支持。

保持安全 居家中心

为应对 2020 年 XNUMX 月英国的首次封锁,Internet Matters 采取了行动并启动了一个新的中心, #StaySafeStayHome,整合我们最相关的内容,让父母适应居家生活更轻松。 我们与品牌大使和儿童心理学家 Linda Papadopoulos 博士密切合作,开发专门针对父母因封锁而面临的挑战的新内容。

封锁如何影响儿童的生活

在 2020 年 2021 月至 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月期间,我们定期向家长询问他们孩子对技术的使用、他们对孩子在线生活的担忧和态度,以及对他们的健康影响的看法。 这项研究提供了一个独特的视角,了解家庭与技术的关系如何从大流行前的世界经过不同时期的封锁和调整到虚拟的新生活方式。

阅读我们的从生存到繁荣报告

弱势儿童

我们专注于通过照顾弱势儿童和年轻人的众多成年人来支持他们,其基础是洞察力和证据表明他们面临更大的风险。 我们的研究始终表明,弱势儿童和青少年在这方面需要来自照顾他们的成年人的更多支持。

在过去的 12 个月中,我们继续主持 英国互联网安全委员会的弱势用户工作组 它将专家志愿者聚集在一起,实施旨在减少遭受在线伤害的弱势用户数量的举措。

我们发布了两份重要报告,强调社会中最脆弱的儿童受到网络伤害的影响尤为严重。 我们还为儿童和青少年推出了一套重要的新定制资源,在他们最需要的时候提供。

业务报告

资源

我们的活动

倾听年轻人关于他们在线生活的经历和观点对于任何与他们互动的人来说都是至关重要的。 因此,Internet Matters 很高兴在 2019 年网络调查中继续与 Youthworks 和金斯敦大学合作,有近 15,000 名学童参与。

用自己的话说–学童的数字生活 突出了一些重要的领域,然后我们能够通过全年的活动解决这些领域。

网上生活事实

生活中的一个事实是,随着我们的孩子长大,他们将接触到某种程度的不适当的内容、接触或在线行为。 然而,能够公开谈论令人尴尬或尴尬的话题并不总是那么容易。 我们 创建了一个广告系列 围绕真实的家庭谈论他们自己的经历,试图使围绕在线安全的对话正常化。 我们希望父母不会感到如此不知所措和孤独。

处理错误信息和假新闻

我们与 Google 合作开展了一个项目,以帮助父母开发工具来教他们的家人如何处理假新闻和错误信息。 在回顾了有关假新闻的情况后,很明显有必要让父母更深入地了解这个问题,以支持他们的孩子。

为了让他们了解让儿童和青少年能够识别和报告在线假新闻的策略,我们与布鲁内尔大学的威廉·沃特金斯教授合作创建了一个中心,提供有关该问题的顶级技巧、资源和专家建议,包括一个新的互动 “找假”测验.

在线教育青少年尊重自己和他人

通过其社区计划,英超联赛希望在网络行为问题及其对身心健康的影响方面为儿童及其家庭提供支持。 主要重点是建立尊重和宽容的在线关系,同时鼓励年轻人更积极地管理他们在网上度过的时间。

We 交付教案、演示文稿和教练简报,用于社区踢计划的 91 个英超联赛和英格兰足球联赛俱乐部。

培养孩子的网上理财技能

Internet Matters 很高兴今年欢迎巴克莱成为企业合作伙伴。 我们共同开发了我们的第一套 专用资源 帮助父母让他们的孩子能够就如何在网上花钱以及如何避免网上欺诈和诈骗做出正确的选择。

新资源包括家长可以用来帮助孩子学习在线资金管理的实用步骤和策略,包括游戏内消费和战利品箱。 我们希望我们能够共同支持父母与孩子就金钱问题进行正确的对话,这样他们就可以安全地享受网络世界所提供的一切。

与专家合作

我们要感谢我们的专家咨询小组的成员,他们对我们工作的持续贡献非常宝贵。 他们的时间和专业知识使 Internet Matters 的工作能够以洞察力为基础,并尽可能做到最好。

艾莉森·普雷斯顿, Ofcom 联合主任兼研究主管
艾玛·詹姆斯 巴纳多斯高级政策顾问
约翰关心 OBE, 英国儿童慈善机构互联网安全联盟 (CHIS) 秘书
Jonathan Baggaley, 首席执行官, PSHE 协会
Lauren Seager-Smith,Kidscape首席执行官
玛格特·詹姆斯, 主席,互联网事务
玛丽史密斯,CEOP教育主管
马克格里菲斯, 诺丁汉特伦特大学游戏研究部教授/主任
玛莎埃文斯, 反欺凌联盟主任
西蒙·P·哈蒙德博士, 东英吉利大学教育讲师
西蒙·维伯特, 儿童事务专员办公室高级政策和公共事务分析师
维多利亚·纳什, 牛津互联网研究所副所长/副教授
将加德纳 OBE, 首席执行官、Childnet 和 UKSIC 董事

展望

当我们回到 2020 年开始工作时,没有人能想象这种流行病会测试、挑战并将组织和个人推向新的极限。 但我们已经恢复了我们的弹性,并共同找到了一种新的数字规范。

毫无疑问,今年对我们所有人来说都非常艰难,但 Internet Matters 仍然保持专注,继续将领先的组织聚集在一起,创造一个儿童和年轻人准备好从互联技术的影响中安全受益的未来。

查看更多

尽管发生了大流行,但我们已经显着增长,并欢迎新员工和新合作伙伴加入; 我为我们所处的位置以及我们共同取得的成就感到无比自豪。

过去两年向我们展示了数字服务如何支撑我们的生活,在未来一年,我们的目标是更深入地了解互联技术对数字福祉的影响。 这将成为我们围绕媒体素养开展工作的重要证据基础,我们很高兴看到这是即将出台的在线安全法案的支柱。

我们将继续优先考虑我们非常重要的工作,以支持最脆弱的在线儿童。 我们继续看到,尽管他们受到伤害的风险比他们的非弱势同龄人高出不成比例,但他们也从上网中获得了更大的好处,因此我们必须以一种能让他们在网络世界中茁壮成长的方式支持这些孩子。

最后,我要感谢与我们一起工作的每一个人。 行业、政策制定者、教育工作者、父母——我们所有人都有共同的责任来确保孩子们快乐、健康,最重要的是,确保孩子们上网安全。 我很高兴 Internet Matters 在这个领域发挥了重要作用,我期待明年取得更大的进展。

Carolyn Bunting,IM 首席执行官

阅读完整的影响力报告

以前的影响报告

这有用吗?
告诉我们如何改进它

Impact report 2020 – 2021

Together for a better internet

In this year’s impact report, we’ve captured the great work that we’ve carried out over the course of the year to further support a diverse range of families in helping their children benefit safely from the impact of connected technology.

You’ll find insights on how our collaboration with our partners and online safety experts has made a difference in children’s lives online and what we hope to accomplish in the coming year.

Margot James

Internet Matters Chairperson

Message from our Chair

“During the period covered by this report, the UK experienced multiple lockdowns and the impact on families was staggering. Within this context, I am so proud of the work of Internet Matters and all that they have achieved.

The overnight shift to remote working challenged many organisations including our long-standing industry partners, but without a doubt, Internet Matters and the coalition adapted and in its 7th anniversary since launch, has had its most impactful year yet.”

Read more

Families have never been more reliant upon technology to connect to the outside world and find some sense of normality in these uncertain times. Technology has been a lifeline for many to connect with friends and family, continue to work, home school children and be entertained.

Through initiatives such as Stay Safe Stay Home, Internet Matters provided key information and resources to families to ensure that their daily online lives during the pandemic were fulfilling and above all, safe. We have continued our work to support the most vulnerable young people online with new research and resources and supported those who were digitally excluded with safety information as they were gifted devices.

As lockdown restrictions gradually lifted, Internet Matters focussed on supporting parents in navigating their way through the impact that their children’s increased digital connectivity had on their overall wellbeing. We will continue to work with our partners to connect with and support as many parents and their children across the UK as possible.

As we share this report, the long-awaited Online Safety Bill has been published and The Children’s Code from the Information Commissioners Office is now in force. These are welcomed regulatory interventions and we look forward to seeing their impact over the coming years. We hope that together they make the internet a significantly safer place for young people. In the meantime, collaboration is at the heart of Internet Matters’ work and we continue to work with a wide range of experts, academics, the third sector and industry. Protecting children’s safety and wellbeing online is complex and our work is all the better because of their ongoing commitment and invaluable support.

The work of Internet Matters cannot be achieved without the support of our growing number of industry partners and their consistent commitment since we started our work in 2014. Their support, and their willingness to collaborate on a sustained basis, has allowed Internet Matters to make a real impact in the lives of children and young people which you will see throughout this report. That’s why I was delighted to join Internet Matters as the inaugural Chairperson in September 2020.

Finally, Internet Matters prides itself on being a collaborative organisation and as such, it works with a wide range of experts, academics, and third sector organisations. We’d like to extend our thanks to them for their support for our work, it is simply better as a result of their input.

Impact report highlights

A year in review

April 2020 – March 2021

Awareness and Usage

The challenge of helping children to remain happy and healthy online touches almost every family in the country, so expanding our reach to drive awareness is critical. Along with our partners we continue to collectively find innovative ways of reaching and engaging with parents.

Impact and Action

Understanding the impact of Internet Matters is vitally important to ensure we continue to support the needs of parents and professionals. To do this, we work with an independent research agency who manage our Impact Assessment Programme.

Three times a year we talk to 2,000 parents of children aged 4-16 to ask them about what they think and feel about the resources available at internetmatters.org and what they do differently as a result.

of parents are more likely to spend more time learning about online safety

of parents are pleased there is an organisation that champions children’s online safety like Internet Matters

of parents are more likely to make use of privacy settings on social media

of parents are more likely to talk to their children about staying safe online

of parents feel better prepared to handle issues that might come up in the future

of parents are more likely to make use of parental controls

Almost 9 in 10 parents would recommend Internet Matters

Themes we focussed on to support families

The report showcases two areas of continued focus for us in 2020/21; reflecting on the impact of lockdown on children and young people’s digital lives and supporting vulnerable children and young people. Below you’ll find a summary of the research and resources that we created to address these themes.

Lessons from lockdown

Without a doubt 2020 and 2021 have been incredibly challenging for families as they’ve grappled with the impact of lockdown restrictions on their day-to-day lives.

As the world came to a standstill, we felt a sizeable shift in their reliance upon and use of technology, with it becoming a lifeline to continue to connect to the outside world. Throughout the last year we have been focussed on understanding the needs of parents and supporting them through these uncertain times.

Stay Safe Stay Home hub

In response to the first UK lockdown in March 2020, Internet Matters took action and launched a new hub, #StaySafeStayHome, consolidating our most relevant content to make life easier for parents adjusting to life at home. We worked closely with brand ambassador and child psychologist Dr Linda Papadopoulos on new content that focused specifically on challenges parents were facing as a result of lockdown.

How lockdown impacted children’s lives

At regular intervals between January 2020 and March 2021, we asked parents about their children’s use of technology, their concerns and attitude to their children’s online lives and perceptions of the impact on their wellbeing. This study gives a unique view into how the family relationship with technology has changed from the pre-pandemic world through various periods of lockdown and adjustment to a new way of living virtually.

Read our From Survive to Thrive report

Vulnerable children

Our focus on supporting vulnerable children and young people, through the rainbow of adults that care for them, is grounded in insights and evidence that demonstrates they are more at risk. Our research consistently shows that vulnerable children and young people need more support in this area from the adults that care for them.

During the last 12 months, we have continued to chair the UK Council for Internet Safety’s Vulnerable Users Working Group which brings together expert volunteers to implement initiatives to reduce the numbers of vulnerable users experiencing online harm.

We have published two key reports that reinforce that it is the most vulnerable children in society that are disproportionately affected by online harms. We have also launched a significant set of new tailored resources for children and young people, delivered at a time when they needed them most.

Reports

Resources

Our campaigns

Listening to the experiences and views of young people about their online lives is critical for anyone that engages with them. Therefore, Internet Matters was delighted to continue its partnership with Youthworks and the University of Kingston on the 2019 Cybersurvey, as nearly 15,000 schoolchildren participated.

In Their Own Words – The Digital Lives of Schoolchildren highlighted a number of important areas which we were able to then address through our campaigns through the year.

The Online Facts of Life

It’s a fact of life that at some point as our children get older, they will be exposed to some level of inappropriate content, contact or conduct online. However, being able to talk openly about subjects that are embarrassing or awkward isn’t always easy. We created a campaign around real families talking about their own experiences in an attempt to normalise the conversations around online safety. Our hope was that parents didn’t feel so overwhelmed and alone.

Tackling misinformation and fake news

In partnership with Google, we collaborated on a project to help parents develop the tools to teach their families how to tackle fake news and misinformation. Upon reviewing the landscape of what is available around fake news, it was clear that there was a need to give parents a more in-depth understanding of the issue to support their children.

In order to inform them of strategies to empower children and young people to recognise and report fake news online, we worked with Professor William Watkins at Brunel University to create a hub offering top tips, resources and expert advice on the issue including a new interactive ‘Find the Fake’ quiz.

Teaching teens respect for themselves and others online

Through its community programme, the Premier League wanted to support children and their families with the issue of online behaviour and its impact on physical and mental health. The primary focus was on building respectful and tolerant relationships online, whilst encouraging young people to more actively manage their time spent online.

We delivered lesson plans, presentations and briefing notes for coaches to be used at 91 Premier League and English Football League Clubs in the community Kicks programme.

Building children’s online money skills

Internet Matters were delighted to welcome Barclays as Corporate Partner this year. We worked together to develop our first set of dedicated resources to help parents empower their children to make the right choices about how they spend their money online and how to avoid online fraud and scams.

The new resources included practical steps and strategies parents can use to help their children learn about online money management, including in-game spending and loot boxes. Together, we hope we can support parents in having the right conversations about money with their children, so they can enjoy all that the online world has to offer safely.

Working collaboratively with experts

We want to thank the members of our Expert Advisory Panel, whose continued contribution to our work has been invaluable. Their time and expertise allow the work of Internet Matters to be grounded in insight and be the best it can possibly be.

Alison Preston, Co-Director and Head of Research, Ofcom
Emma James, Senior Policy Advisor, Barnados
John Care OBE, Secretary, UK Children’s Charities’ Coalition on Internet Safety (CHIS)
Jonathan Baggaley, CEO, PSHE Association
Lauren Seager-Smith, CEO, Kidscape
Margot James, Chair, Internet Matters
Marie Smith, Head of Education, CEOP
Mark Griffiths, Professor/Director of the Gaming Research Unit, Nottingham Trent University
Martha Evans, Director, Anti-Bullying Alliance
Dr Simon P. Hammond, Lecturer in Education University of East Anglia
Simon Vibert, Senior Policy and Public Affairs Analyst, Office of the Children’s Commissioner
Victoria Nash, Deputy Director/Associate Professor, Oxford Internet Institute
Will Gardner OBE, CEO, Childnet and Director at UKSIC

Looking forward

When we embarked on our working year back in 2020, nobody could have imagined the pandemic that tested, challenged and pushed organisations and individuals to new limits. But we have fallen back on our resilience and collectively found a new digital norm.

Undoubtedly, this year has been tremendously tough for us all but Internet Matters has remained focused, continuing to bring together leading organisations to create a future where children and young people are prepared to benefit safely from the impact of connected technology.

Read more

Despite the pandemic we have grown significantly and welcomed new employees and new partners into the fold; I couldn’t be prouder of where we are and what we have achieved together.

The last two years have shown us how digital services underpin our lives and in the coming year we aim to develop a much greater understanding of the impact of connected technology on digital wellbeing. This will be a vital evidence base to inform our work around media literacy, which we are pleased to see is a pillar of the forthcoming online safety bill.

We will continue to prioritise our very important work to support the most vulnerable children online. We continue to see that although their risk of harm is disproportionately higher than their non-vulnerable peers, they also get greater benefits from being online, so it’s imperative that we support these children in a way that allows them to thrive in the online world.

Finally, I’d like to thank everyone that we work with. Industry, policymakers, educators, parents – all of us have a collective responsibility to ensure children are happy, healthy and above all, safe online. I am delighted that Internet Matters plays an important role in this space and I look forward to making even more progress next year.

Carolyn Bunting, IM CEO

Read full Impact report

Previous Impact Reports

Was this useful?
Tell us how we can improve it