从生存到繁荣:

锁定后支持数字家庭生活

在这份报告中,我们向父母询问了孩子对技术的使用,对孩子的在线生活的关注和态度,以及对孩子的幸福感的看法。

Carolyn Bunting

首席执行官,互联网事务

CEO致辞

毫无疑问,过去的12个月对于家庭来说已经是非常艰巨的挑战,因为他们一直在努力应对锁定限制对他们日常生活的影响。 随着世界停滞不前,我们感到他们对技术的依赖和使用已发生了很大的变化,它成为继续与外界联系的生命线。 我们的报告为我们提供了一个有趣的观点,介绍了各地家庭的独特时期,以及在前进的过程中如何更好地支持他们。”

更多信息

从第一批Covid-19案例到现在进入英国的第二年禁令,已经过去了一年多的时间,不足为奇的是,许多孩子及其父母和照护者越来越多地使用屏幕来连接外界。 技术是我们所有人的生命线,可以使我们与家人和朋友保持联系,可以通过家庭学习对孩子们进行教育,还可以使每个人在这个不确定的时代中获得乐趣并享受乐趣。

在2020年2021月至XNUMX年XNUMX月之间,我们定期向父母询问孩子们对技术的使用,他们的担忧,对孩子的在线生活的态度以及对孩子的幸福感的看法。 这项研究使我们对家庭与技术之间的关系如何从大流行前的世界,到不同的锁定和调整时期,转变为虚拟的新生活方式,有了独特的见解。

在2021年XNUMX月,我们用一些其他研究问题补充了这一问题,要求父母反思这种对联网房屋的依赖性增加的正面和负面影响。 这使我们能够期待父母现在需要的帮助,以及随着英国Covid限制的解除,我们将如何最好地支持他们。

我们的研究讲述了一个包含两个关键部分的故事。 父母们已经认识到在每个连续的锁定时间内,互联技术的真正好处。 确实很难想象如果没有它会发生什么,以及现在的家庭会在哪里。 尽管存在一个积极的故事,但随着屏幕前的时间越来越多,父母越来越担心自己的孩子在网上遭受伤害,并注意到在线活动(尤其是实时流媒体以及在网上花钱)有所增加。 整个报告中反复出现的主题是,压倒性的见识是,具有某种形式的脱机漏洞的儿童受到Covid-19在技术使用及其影响方面的影响所占比例过大。 他们比以往任何时候都更需要我们的支持,以使他们拥有更安全的在线体验,并随着物理世界再次为我们所有人开放,在数字世界中蓬勃发展。

阅读完整的报告

方法

所有参与者均经过仔细筛选,以确保他们符合参加的必要标准并适合进行这项研究。

自2017年以来,互联网问题家长追踪器一直在运行,每年进行三波研究。 在每一个浪潮中,我们采访了2,000名5-16岁儿童的父母,这些儿童来自广泛的社会人口统计学背景,内容涉及儿童的数字使用方式,他们的特殊关注和在线危害的经验以及他们自己的调解技术。 为了让我们反思Covid大流行之前的变化,本报告使用了4年2020月,2020年2020月,2021年XNUMX月和XNUMX年XNUMX月进行的最后四次调查的数据。

在2021年XNUMX月进行的浪潮中,我们提出了一系列有关大流行病影响的特定问题,以便更好地了解父母在此期间的行为,态度和对子女福祉的看法。 在调查中,有弱势儿童的父母或看护者将其定义为已注册的残疾; 具有特殊教育需要和残疾(SEND)身份或教育和保健计划(EHCP); 拥有注册护工/领取护工津贴或已接受针对精神健康问题的专业治疗。

我们认识到,每个孩子都不一样,每个孩子都可能容易受到伤害-尤其是在网上。 此外,面对脱机漏洞不一定是静态或永久状态。 该报告中的数据点来自父母和照料者在这个空前的时期谈论他们的孩子。

您将在报告中找到什么

  • 孩子们在网上做什么
  • 父母对孩子的网络世界有何看法
  • 弱势儿童如何受到最大影响
  • 家庭如何适应虚拟学校
  • 接下来是什么? 展望未来

关键数据

  • 家长报告了 32%增加 工作日的屏幕时间使用情况(从去年每个工作日的平均2.2个小时到2.9年2021月的XNUMX个小时)
  • 61% 的父母说,他们的孩子自己上网玩游戏, 48% 对别人
  • 观看现场直播时, 43% 逐年增加或积极播放自己的视频
  • 有一个 89% 积极播放自己的视频的儿童同比增长
  • 42% 在线消费增加,其中包括游戏积分,在线购物和应用购买
  • 超过一半的父母(56%) 说自大流行开始以来,孩子们的网络世界对他们的生活产生了积极影响
  • 超过一半的父母 (53%) 同意他们的孩子过分依赖在线技术
  • 80% 同意技术一直是在线学习的好工具, 78% 看到了它对让他们的孩子社交,保持联系和娱乐所产生的积极影响
  • 五分之二的父母(39%) 发现自己比平时更长的时间将自己的孩子留在自己的设备中
  • 近四分之一(23%) 的弱势儿童父母的报告说,他们的孩子经历过网络欺凌
  • 47% 的弱势儿童父母告诉我们,由于过去12个月里花了更多时间上网,孩子们变得更加焦虑

向上滚动

From Survive to Thrive:

Supporting digital family life after lockdown

In this report, we asked parents about their children’s use of technology, their concerns and attitudes to their children’s online lives and perceptions of the impact on their wellbeing.

Carolyn Bunting

CEO, Internet Matters

Message from the CEO

Without a doubt, the last 12 months have been incredibly challenging for families as they’ve grappled with the impact of lockdown restrictions on their day-to-day lives. As the world came to a standstill we felt a sizeable shift in their reliance upon and use of technology, with it becoming a lifeline to continue to connect to the outside world. Our report gives us an interesting perspective on a unique period in time for families everywhere and how we can better support them as we move forward.”

Read more

Well over a year on from the first cases of Covid-19 and now into the second year of restrictions in the UK, it comes as no surprise that many children and their parents and carers increasingly used screens to connect to the outside world. Technology was a lifeline for us all, allowing us to connect with family and friends, for children to be educated through home learning and for everyone to be entertained and have fun in these uncertain times.

At regular intervals between January 2020 and March 2021, we asked parents about their Children’s use of technology, their concerns, and attitudes to their children’s online lives, and perceptions of the impact on their wellbeing. This study gives us a unique view into how the family relationship with technology has changed from the pre-pandemic world through various periods of lockdown and adjustment to a new way of living virtually.

In March 2021 we supplemented this with some additional research questions, asking parents to reflect on the positive and negative aspects of this increased reliance on the connected home. This allows us to look forward to what help parents now need and how we can best support them as UK Covid restrictions start to lift.

Our research tells a story with two key parts. Parents have recognised the true benefits of connected technology through each successive period of lockdown. It is indeed hard to imagine what would have happened without it and where families would be now. Though a positive story exists, with more time in front of a screen, parents are increasingly concerned about their children encountering harm online and have noticed an increase in online activities particularly live streaming as well as spending money online. A recurring theme throughout the report is the overwhelming insight that children with some form of offline vulnerability have been disproportionately affected by the impact of Covid-19 in relation to technology use and its effects. They need our support more than ever to enable them to have a safer online experience and to thrive in the digital world as the physical world opens up again for us all.

Read the full report

Methodology

All participants were carefully screened to ensure they met the required criteria to take part and were suitable for this research.

The Internet Matters Parents Tracker has been running since 2017 with three waves of research being conducted each year. In each wave we interview 2,000 parents of children aged 5-16 across a broad sociodemographic background, on their children’s digital usage, their specific concerns and experience of online harm and their own mediation techniques. To allow us to reflect on changes since before the Covid pandemic, this report uses data from the last 4 waves of the survey undertaken in January 2020, May 2020, October 2020 and March 2021.

For the wave conducted in March 2021, we included a specific set of questions about the impact of the pandemic to better understand parents’ behaviours, attitudes and perception of their children’s wellbeing during this time period. Within the survey a child with vulnerabilities is defined by their parent or carer as registered disabled; having registered Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) status or an Education and Health Care Plan (EHCP); having a registered carer/receiving a Carer’s Allowance or having received professional medical treatment for mental health issues.

We recognise that every child is different and every child can be vulnerable – especially online. Further, facing offline vulnerabilities is not necessarily a static or permanent state. The data points in this report come from parents and carers talking about their children in this unprecedented time.

What you'll find in the report

  • What children have been doing online
  • How parents feel about their children’s online world
  • How children with vulnerabilities have been most impacted
  • How families adapted to the virtual school
  • What next? Looking ahead

Key stats and figures

  • Parents have reported a 32% increase in screen time usage on weekdays (from an average of 2.2 hours per weekday last year to 2.9 hours in March 2021)
  • 61% of parents say their children play games online on their own and 48% against others
  • Watching live broadcasts had a 43% increase year on year or actively broadcasting their own videos
  • There was an 89% increase year on year of children actively broadcasting their own videos
  • 42% increase in spending money online, which includes game credits as well as online shopping and app purchases
  • Over half of parents (56%) say their children’s online world has had a positive impact on their lives since the pandemic began
  • More than half of parents (53%) agree that their child has become too reliant on online technology
  • 80% agreed that technology has been a good tool for online learning and 78% saw the positive impact it had on allowing their children to socialise, stay connected, and be entertained
  • Two in five parents (39%) found themselves leaving their children alone with their devices for much longer periods of time than usual
  • Nearly a quarter (23%) of parents of vulnerable children report that their child has experienced online bullying
  • 47% of parents of vulnerable children told us that children have become more anxious as a result of spending more time online over the last 12 months

Scroll Up