There are various steps you can take to make sure your child’s profile and experience are both as safe as possible starting with the option of a Public or Private Profile:
This ensures only followers that your child knows and approves personally can see their posts.
All posts and activity can be seen by everyone who uses the app and web version of Instagram.
By default all profiles are Public, a Private Profile can be activated by selecting the gear icon in the top right of the profile view followed by Private Profile.
The sharing and posting of content
There are 3 options to consider when posting content and who with:
The most relaxed profile setting. All photos and videos are searchable and can be viewed and commented on by all users.
Videos and photos are only seen by ‘approved followers’. All followers must be approved by your child.
Instagram has an option to send content directly to up to 15 people. Messages are deleted after 2 weeks if they remain ignored.
Tagging a location when posting will show where the photo or video was captured including private vicinities. Explaining to your child the consequences of this is advisable.
Managing the content in your child’s feed
For more information about what, as a user, you can and cannot post click here. To manage the content that your child see’s on their feed you can:
Unfollow a user
If your child no longer wants to see a particular user’s content or doesn’t like what they see, simply unfollow that person. This can be executed directly from their profile page.
Block a user and/or report their content as inappropriate
A user can be blocked, or their content reported as inappropriate, by tapping the ellipsis in top right-hand corner of their profile. Select ‘Block User’ and/or ‘Report Inappropriate Content’.